DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Truncate thru Forms

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    6

    Truncate thru Forms

    Plzzz tell me how can I truncate tables thru Forms 6i. Plzzz explain in easy steps as I m new to this....

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    Buy a book on Oracle Forms and read it. Prentice Hall has a good starter-level book titled, appropriately enough, Oracle Forms.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    6
    Dear Stecal, alot of ppl have suggested that its not possible from Forms 6i but possible from Stored Procedures and those procedures can be called from Forms.
    I've tried but thats also not working. Is there any1 who can tell me syntex for truncating tables in Stored Procedures.

    Thanks in advance

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    170
    Code:
    CREATE OR REPLACE PROCEDURE trunc_table(tbl_name in varchar2)  	  		  						
    IS
       PRAGMA AUTONOMOUS_TRANSACTION;
    
    BEGIN
    	execute immediate 'truncate table ' ||  tbl_name;
    	 
    END trunc_table;
    /

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    170
    I'm just trying out how the php formatting looks.
    PHP Code:
    CREATE OR REPLACE PROCEDURE trunc_table(tbl_name in varchar2)                                          
    IS
       PRAGMA AUTONOMOUS_TRANSACTION
    ;

    BEGIN
        execute immediate 
    'truncate table ' ||  tbl_name;
         
    END trunc_table;


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Karachi
    Posts
    6
    Millions of THANKS thomasp

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vadodara, India
    Posts
    249
    use folowing command


    forms_ddl('truncate table ;');

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width