10g audit doesn't work inside DBMS_JOB
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 10g audit doesn't work inside DBMS_JOB

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    81

    10g audit doesn't work inside DBMS_JOB

    when procedure executed in SQLPLUS it generates audit in SYS.AUD$
    when it executed from DBMS_JOB, no audit is generated any ideas?
    tables are audited by access for insert and update

    Do I have to enable sys auditing to get it to work?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    Interesting as the behavior reprodcuces in 9i with an anonymous block

    SQL> drop table t1
    2 /

    Table dropped.

    SQL> create table t1 (c int)
    2 /

    Table created.

    SQL> audit all on t1 by session
    2 /

    Audit succeeded.

    SQL> insert into t1 values(1)
    2 /

    1 row created.

    SQL> commit
    2 /

    Commit complete.

    SQL> select userid,to_char(timestamp#,'hh24:mi:ss') audit_time from sys.aud$
    2 /

    USERID AUDIT_TIME
    -------------------- ------------------------------
    STMONTGO 21:17:16

    SQL> begin
    2 execute immediate ('insert into t1 values(2)');
    3 end;
    4 /

    PL/SQL procedure successfully completed.

    SQL> select userid,to_char(timestamp#,'hh24:mi:ss') audit_time from sys.aud$
    2 /

    USERID AUDIT_TIME
    -------------------- ------------------------------
    STMONTGO 21:17:16

    SQL> select * from t1;

    C
    ----------
    1
    2
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Isn't it because auditing is for stadard SQL COMMANDS?
    And packages/procedures that are derive from other source
    like EXECUTE IMMEDIATE, IMMEDIATE here is an INTERNAL procedures that calls DBMS_SQL(native) commands prevent AUDITING from doing its task?
    Just a wild idea. I would be very much glad if somebody can clear this thought ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    Originally posted by reydp
    Isn't it because auditing is for stadard SQL COMMANDS?
    And packages/procedures that are derive from other source
    like EXECUTE IMMEDIATE, IMMEDIATE here is an INTERNAL procedures that calls DBMS_SQL(native) commands prevent AUDITING from doing its task?
    Just a wild idea. I would be very much glad if somebody can clear this thought ...
    that could be, i could not find that documented though. that sucks though, you would think audit insert would audit insert when in reality some could easy cirumvent through an anonymous block
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187

    Re: 10g audit doesn't work inside DBMS_JOB

    Originally posted by eugene
    when procedure executed in SQLPLUS it generates audit in SYS.AUD$
    when it executed from DBMS_JOB, no audit is generated any ideas?
    tables are audited by access for insert and update

    Do I have to enable sys auditing to get it to work?
    Why don't you raise a tar and post the results here, I'd be curious to see what theose redwood shores prima donna's have to say
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    81
    my employer doesn't have support , so I can't log a tar..........
    I couldn't find any docs related to this on metastink anyways......

    guess I should abandon the 10g new cool feature and go to a regular trigger way of doing things..........

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Originally posted by stmontgo
    that could be, i could not find that documented though. that sucks though, you would think audit insert would audit insert when in reality some could easy cirumvent through an anonymous block
    If this is the case, then oracle now can include this for there new patches or maintenance release. Or worse comes to worst have to wait for new version, maybe something like 11d(after 10g).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width