re: duplicating a database
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: re: duplicating a database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    58

    Question re: duplicating a database

    hi! ,

    How do I duplicate an Oracle 9.2.0.5 production database ?

    assuming that the duplicate "environment" will be
    the "same" as the production environment ..
    -- the same operating system as the production database
    -- the same hardware as the production database
    -- at a user level instead of the whole database

    using the export and import utility ....

    question 1)
    i export user1 from the production database
    what are the things to specify in the export clause

    question 2)
    when I import what are the things I need to have done
    before doing the import ?????

    do I just need to have the user and password created !!!
    and the import will do the rest like creating the appropriate
    tablespaces and datafiles etc ...

    thanks for your help and insights !!!
    harish
    thanks,
    harish

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    170
    You have to create the database first in your duplicate environment with all the datafiles and tablespaces as in the original database and then you can do an export full=y and then import it to the new database.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    1.create required tablespace and datafile at target database.
    2.create users at target.
    3.From source take export of user1 with full=y.
    4.At target import the user1 with full=y.

    onemore alternative is by using transportable tablespaces feature.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    58

    Question re: steps 1) and 2)

    How do I go about for

    steps 1) and 2)

    do I need to get the details for the all the tablespaces,datafiles
    and the user tablepspace and data file file info
    from the prodcution dba team ..!!!!


    thanks,

    Harish
    thanks,
    harish

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    yes.only tablespaces and datafiles pertaining to users.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092

    Re: re: duplicating a database

    Originally posted by hreddy007

    using the export and import utility
    That's a lot of work, IMHO. See http://www.dbasupport.com/forums/sho...threadid=44964
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width