Graceful switchoer and switchback
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Graceful switchoer and switchback

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    31

    Post Graceful switchoer and switchback

    Guys,

    I have two oracle instances on my production box and just recently setup a dataguard. Guess what there are memory problems in production and now I have to do a switchover .

    As you can guess , I'm quite frantically looking around for best practices or a checklist documents to make sure it goes on well. As you can guess, we dont have a development instance / test instance yet due to cash crunches . Though I will get my test and dev boxes by end of the year .. I will have to do a switchover to justify getting my second standby box. Can you guys help me with some documention for 9i release 2.0 . my produciton and standby instances have same structuire and are on different nodes and is following up closesly.


    I have just jotted down a few things to do not necessarily in the right order :

    0. BAckup Controlfile to trace on both instances

    1. Modify SPFILE on Production for role reversal and create SPFILE on standy ( I now have a PFILE )

    2. Create logfiles on standby

    3. Create temp files (and rbs files(!) need to check this )

    4. Clear logs on production


    *****

    steps in order
    Use dataguard to do role reversal

    Anyone has a proper document ? Link to some document ?

    Dosth

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    It's old but is refered to in 2004 MetaLink articles:
    http://metalink.oracle.com/cgi-bin/c...90817.1:271082

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    31
    I have seen this document before , Infact its a good one but does not have DATAGUARD ( DGMGRL in it ? ) does it ?

    Thanks anyway!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    31
    Thanks , I read this documents and tried my first switch over .

    Unfortunately I got a ORA-600 error, when I tried setting

    DG_BROKER_START = true

    Any ideas ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    807
    Originally posted by Dosth
    Unfortunately I got a ORA-600 error, when I tried setting

    DG_BROKER_START = true

    Any ideas ?
    What's the ORA-600 argument? Post error logs.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    Originally posted by Dosth
    Thanks , I read this documents and tried my first switch over .

    Unfortunately I got a ORA-600 error, when I tried setting

    DG_BROKER_START = true

    Any ideas ?
    What do you mean? How did you set it? Where did you set it? What state was the db in when you set it?
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width