Resizing redo logs in 10g
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Resizing redo logs in 10g

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38

    Resizing redo logs in 10g

    Hello,

    I need some help in knowing how to increase the size for redo logs on a 10g. Can someone post some pointers for that or steps to do so..

    Thanks in advance for your help
    --K

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    807
    Add new big ones, drop old small ones.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Better do it at a quiet time:
    Add big ones
    Switch log files until the little ones not in use
    Drop the little ones (will fail if in use)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    295
    The steps didn't change, it's simply the matter of adding new groups and dropping the old ones. If you're not using OMF you'll have to delete the files on the OS too.

    Further, you know have the option to use a log file size recommended by the database itself (select optimal_log_file_size from v$instance_recovery) based on FAST_START_MTTR_TARGET.
    An ounce of action is worth a ton of theory.
    —Friedrich Engels

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38
    Thank you Axr2 and DaPi,

    This is a small step by step process that I have put up after reading your posts and going through the documentation. Would any one kindly go through and verify them and let me know if they seem ok or need any modifications

    SHUTDOWN DATABASE

    STARTUP MOUNT

    ALTER DATABASE ADD LOGFILE '/oracle/dbs/redo04.log' size 100M;
    ALTER DATABASE ADD LOGFILE '/oracle/dbs/redo05.log' size 100M;
    ALTER DATABASE ADD LOGFILE '/oracle/dbs/redo06.log' size 100M;
    ALTER DATABASE ADD LOGFILE '/oracle/dbs/redo07.log' size 100M;

    ALTER SYSTEM SWITCH LOGFILE; ( run this till SELECT GROUP#, STATUS FROM V$LOG; shows
    all the older smaller logfiles ( redo01, redo02 and redo03 ) as INACTIVE )

    ALTER DATABASE DROP LOGFILE MEMBER '/oracle/dbs/redo01.log';
    ALTER DATABASE DROP LOGFILE MEMBER '/oracle/dbs/redo02.log';


    ALTER DATABASE OPEN;


    Rearrange logfiles so as to have them from number 01

    SHUTDOWN DATABASE
    mv /oracle/dbs/redo05.log /oracle/dbs/redo01.log
    mv /oracle/dbs/redo06.log /oracle/dbs/redo02.log
    mv /oracle/dbs/redo07.log /oracle/dbs/redo03.log

    STARTUP MOUNT

    alter database rename file '/oracle/dbs/redo05.log' TO '/oracle/dbs/redo01.log'
    alter database rename file '/oracle/dbs/redo06.log' TO '/oracle/dbs/redo02.log'
    alter database rename file '/oracle/dbs/redo07.log' TO '/oracle/dbs/redo03.log'

    ALTER DATABASE OPEN;


    Thanks
    -K

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    You don't need to shutdown and startup. Just make sure the log you want to drop is not current or active, drop it, rm it, re-create it with the correct size.

    OABTW, your logfiles should be multiplexed.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38
    Thanks all...

    It worked..

    -K

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width