DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Serious question about my future

Hello! i am currently studying on OCP DBA track, but it sounds like most of oracle DBA jobs require heavy experience ,and Developer has more chance to get a job if you don't have experience. I am still confused as to which way I should go to get a better chance ;DBA or Developer? seems to me if i know the DBA skill,it will be much easier to understand what the developer does. I know that most companies want a DBA or Developer with at least two years experience,but how can I get experience right after graduating from college?.

Secondly, Can anybody tell me about future DBMS market? Mostly, Oracle ,MS SQL Server,DB2,and Sybase.
    I am a MS sql Server MCP, but I believe Oracle is still the database software in highest demand on DBMS,ASP,B2B,ERP.. . ,but i think MS and IBM are trying to take over those markets .

Thanks for reading my questions, and I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards jung

:confused:

Talking Oracle is Oracle

Dear Jang

Oracle is oracle. Well i fell in love with it. You are probably new to IT but Oracle has long History. MCP or MCSE is just beginning to get into IT Profession. Do you know Oracle is for more the 80 platforms (From mainframe to Pc). It is a best choice. With 8i Oracle's market position far ahead then its competitor and in my view DBA is better then developer cause there is more thrill in administrating then creating applications.

Neaman

Unhappy what about Job?

Hi neaman,
    As he asked, which one is preferable to him as
    he don't have any experience??? Do you think
    DBA positions available for Fresh DBAs?????

I agree with you on "DBA is better then developer cause there is more thrill in administrating then creating applications".

Jang, In addition to DBA, tyr to get as much as of SQL-PL/SQL and how to used Packages available in Oracle
    for developing and debugging. Bcoz there are some