adding new disk in solaris 7
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: adding new disk in solaris 7

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ludhiana (Pb.) INDIA
    Posts
    12

    adding new disk in solaris 7

    hi all

    i'm a newbie to unix env. anyboday havin any idea how do i add and configure a new disk drive for solaris 7.0 (5.0.7). my /home is totally out of space now. i couldn't get any help on unix.com forums.

    thnx in advance
    Vikas Verma
    ___________
    It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.
    __________
    Aristotle

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    not to point out the obivious but...
    Have you cleaned out the directory for garbage? I swear every time I go to a client site I spend a week cleaning out leftover .out .dmp .log .txt bla bla bla. especially in users home directories.

    I know that didn't answer your question but it might work as a bandaide until you get the correct answer.
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    put hard disk in

    touch /reconfigure

    init 6

    then use format to do what you want with it

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ludhiana (Pb.) INDIA
    Posts
    12
    thnx 4 ur suggetions. actually i have to installed a new hard disk on solaris server. if u can help me plz reply soon.
    Vikas Verma
    ___________
    It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.
    __________
    Aristotle

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    At the boot prompt you should say probe-scsi

    regards
    Hrishy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,001
    There is this great site called BigAdmin. Its a site completely devoted to the Solaris operating system. They might be able to help you there. They also might tell you to at least upgrade to Solaris 8 if not 9. Once you get the disk space figured out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width