Necessary to me to increase datafile SYSTEM
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Necessary to me to increase datafile SYSTEM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    11

    Question

    Hi all! Help me please.
    It is necessary to me to increase a size of datafile SYSTEM.
    I changed a size of another datafiles. Whether there are any differences
    in this case? Should i do it when DB is open or only mounted?
    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Don't worry.
    You can resize the datafile for SYSTEM or create another datafile to increase size.
    Ramon Caballero, DBA, rcaballe@yahoo.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    roma
    Posts
    131
    absolutly db opened, alter tablespace system add datafile '****' size ****

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    417
    Do you know the reason the tablespace has to be resized? Are you sure nobody has system as their temp tablespace or default tablespace?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    Either resize the dbf or set AUTOEXTEND ON for the system dbf.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    11

    Thank you very much!

    I know the reason the tablespace has to be resized .
    The former dba created some users which had system both default
    and temp. I changed their default and temp tablespaces but they
    have some tables there which grows and grows...
    I can't add datafile as number of datafiles=db_files in init.ora.
    I'll do as you wrote.
    Thank you.
    Tatyana

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    104
    hello,
    I have a question,if by resizing any tbsp,fragmentation occur?I always prefered to add datafiles rather than resizing as I thought it would fragment the tbsp more.am I right?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    104
    hello,
    I have a question,if by resizing any tbsp,fragmentation occur?I always prefered to add datafiles rather than resizing as I thought it would fragment the tbsp more.am I right?

    also tatyana can't U alter those fast increasing tables default and temp tbsp to other tbsp.except datadictionary nothing is required to stay in system tbsp,especially user tables should not.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    128
    Yes, if you resize a datafile then it's possible that it could fragment the file on the disk.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    11

    Smile

    I resized system .
    Thanks to all.
    drishti, now nobody have system as default or temp but
    i can't move existing tables to another tbs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width