ORA-12560: TNS:protocol adapter error
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ORA-12560: TNS:protocol adapter error

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391

    ORA-12560: TNS:protocol adapter error

    i am on windows 2000, with oracle 8.1.7. My oracle was fine in the past. Until today, when i have problems with connection and found out that oracle has this "ORA-12560: TNSrotocol adapter error". I checked the oracleservice service and it was running. I also did a stop/start, and a restart but both failed. Eventually, i did a reboot of the system and it is fine now.

    I searched OSS and came across this note 441518 with the below section.

    "11. Check whether a reboot solves the problem. This solved the problem in the past, for example, in the case of problems accessing pipes such as

    sntpcall: Attempting to open pipe \\.\PIPE\ORANTPFE8.A68
    sntpcall: Failed to open pipe \.\PIPE\ORANTPFE8.A68, err = 2

    in the Net8 trace and in the subsequent ORA-12560. "


    My questions are as follows
    1) Does it mean that this will happen consistently in future?
    2) my alert file did not show the above error messages either.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    If your client can connect to the server, then you're only problem is your local connection to your DB. This didn't register to your alert file because your db is ok. It's only your connection which has a problem because your environment was not set properly. Try setting ORACLE_SID and maybe ORACLE_HOME in your environment system variables.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    295
    Well, all the times I faced that error on Windows, the reason was one of the following:

    - Environment variables not set properly
    - Some weird bug with Remote Desktop Client
    An ounce of action is worth a ton of theory.
    —Friedrich Engels

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    thanks for your replies... but what i am trying to say is that this has been fine all along until that fateful day... anyway, a restart of my box with no changes to any configuration at all.... , and i am able to do per as normal...

    that is why i am puzzled at the message that oracle gives me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Originally posted by yls177
    thanks for your replies... but what i am trying to say is that this has been fine all along until that fateful day... anyway, a restart of my box with no changes to any configuration at all.... , and i am able to do per as normal...

    that is why i am puzzled at the message that oracle gives me.
    Its windows! Better re-start every night!!
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    yes.. its windows..

    and its part of our maintenance to restart all our windows boxes once a month

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width