Redo log problem..pls its urgent.
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Redo log problem..pls its urgent.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    india
    Posts
    13

    Redo log problem..pls its urgent.

    Hi

    I have just got the following problem
    it displays in DOS mode ..on oracle server running win2k ora9i
    __________________________________________________________________
    warning-the following error occured during ORACLE redo log archival :
    ORACLE instance xxxxx -can not allocate log ,archival required
    -------------------------------------------------
    press ENTER to acknowledge message.



    and when pressed enter ..application hanged.

    pls treat it urgent as m not in a position what to do..


    thx....thx.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    check your disk space.
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    india
    Posts
    13
    brother,space is not a problem.

    suggest something other.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    what the error is telling you is that the redo log is full and it needs to write the information to the archive log but it can't. So, that means one of two problems.
    1. You don't have enough disk space on the drive for the archive log to be created.
    2. Oracle doesn't have permissions to write to the drive specified.

    ps. how many redo logs do you have?

    Good Lord I'm messing up.
    Ignore the above. Your redo logs...how many and how big are they? Check you alert.log and see how often you're switching redo logs. They're probably too small and not enough. The archiver can't keep up. Also check your log_archive settings in the init.ora to see that it is set to true and if it is did you do a startup mount archive?
    Last edited by OracleDoc; 07-29-2004 at 05:40 AM.
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    What OracleDoc said is correct. BTW can you post the exact error codes from alert.log file?
    Sanjay G.
    Oracle Certified Professional 8i, 9i.

    "The degree of normality in a database is inversely proportional to that of its DBA"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    bangalore
    Posts
    24
    check
    sql>archive log list;
    or
    is your redo log file and archive log file is it in the same disk? If so change the disk
    or
    how many log groups you have? If it's less increase the number of groups.
    or
    if your log member size is less you can increase.
    or
    what's your log_buffer size? If it's very big might make your dbwr slow which intern could affect arch and lgwr
    Thanks and Regards,
    Satheesh Babu.S
    Bangalore

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    india
    Posts
    13

    Thx.

    thx a lot everybody especially oraceldoc sanjay n shans

    problem was with archival mode..it was disabled automatically.

    thx again.

    cheers...seems have to go for oracle permanently.boss pressuries wot can i do too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width