DBMS_JOB
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: DBMS_JOB

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hammersmith, London
    Posts
    20
    Hi

    I need to schedule a procedure using dbms_job.

    I created it using the following script.

    declare
    jobno number;
    begin
    dbms_job.submit(jobno,'SP_PRE;', sysdate+1/1400,'sysdate+1/1400');
    commit;
    end;

    When I check the user_jobs, the next_date column shows the process is due to run in a minute but its not executing at all. Where us If I use DBMS_JOB.RUN(1), its executing the procedure SP_PRE.

    In init.ora, I have the following setting

    job_queue_processes = 4
    job_queue_interval = 60

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks

    Raj

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    296
    How do you know the job is not executed? Is last_date in user_jobs null?
    Maybe an error occured, broken in user_jobs is 'N', and failures is 0?
    Maybe others jobs are running.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hammersmith, London
    Posts
    20
    I am sure its not executed. In the User_jobs, Broken is having 'N' , Failures is 0 and total_time=0.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    296
    If last_date is null the job is not executed, but if it is not null it is executed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Munich/Germany
    Posts
    5
    Did you restart your database after changing the init.ora parameters? It's only then that the init.ora is read...
    Monika

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hammersmith, London
    Posts
    20
    Monika

    Yes. Before I scheduled the procedure, I restarted the instance after changing the init.ora parameters.

    Raj

    [Edited by g_raju on 11-23-2000 at 07:14 AM]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    433
    Check DBA_JOBS

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hammersmith, London
    Posts
    20
    Checked up with DBA_JOBS. Its no different from USER_JOBS.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    33
    Check in dba_jobs_running if no other jobs are running, taking all the queue_processes up.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hammersmith, London
    Posts
    20
    I checked up dba_jobs_running. It has no rows on it.


    Raj

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width