possible to clone a database with cold backup across diff unix platform ?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: possible to clone a database with cold backup across diff unix platform ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Singapore(Asia)-WebCentre business company
    Posts
    456

    possible to clone a database with cold backup across diff unix platform ?

    hi,

    I have a compaq trueunix(my current db) and hp-ux unix server(target new db), can i perform a cold backup(using gzip) in compaq and ftp into hp-ux and then recreate controlfile to CLONE my db??

    is this possible??or i hv to use export/import?

    thank in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    No, you can't do that.
    Yes, you can use import and export.

    after thought...Even though your OS's are UNIX, they're different flavors of UNIX. Kinda like Orange's and Tangerines.
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Singapore(Asia)-WebCentre business company
    Posts
    456
    so in the same sense even transportable tablespace also cant work in that way , am i right??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Singapore(Asia)-WebCentre business company
    Posts
    456
    OracleDoc,

    BTW...when u say export/import are we talking abt exporting in my hp-ux by doing a sqlplus connection to my db in compaq rite?? and then perform an import at the same unix prompt?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    Yes you are correct transportable tablespaces won't work either. It has to be the same OS. :( That feature is great if you have a prod and dev database on the same OS.

    On compaq: exp system/bla bla file=full_db.dmp full=y
    ftp: full_db.dmp to HP.

    On HP: imp system/bla bla file=full_db.dmp ect ect.

    As I'm sure you're aware there's other things you need to look out for like file size and such but that's the jist of it.
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Singapore(Asia)-WebCentre business company
    Posts
    456
    hi oracledoc,

    u sure it'll work using ur method? I thot it shld be:

    HP: exp user/passwd@compaqdb_tns file=abc.dmp full=y

    HP: imp user/passwd file=abc.dmp commit=y



    ....somethg like that? becos the dmp created in compaq will hv
    diff format when ftp into HP OS rite? Correct me if I am wrong?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    yes it will work. If you don't believe me try doing just one table. the .dmp file is basically a txt file. Yes, it has some binary headers on it and yes it will get corrupted if you go try to manually edit the contents. But, for your purposes it will work. Go try it
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    Originally posted by OracleDoc
    Yes you are correct transportable tablespaces won't work either. It has to be the same OS.
    10g introduces Cross-Platform Transportable Tablespaces.
    Sanjay G.
    Oracle Certified Professional 8i, 9i.

    "The degree of normality in a database is inversely proportional to that of its DBA"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    Ohhh man that's right! I forgot about that, thanks Sanjay!
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3,999
    IMHO, IT seems that the real difference is not the difference in OS, it is the difference in file system. The other difference would be the character-set used by the OS.

    Using You can always try ftping the files over and see if they won't if the file systems are different they probably won't work.

    If you do the exp/imp option, you can do one of two things. You can pipe the exp to compress ftp it to the target node using binary then pipe it from compress to imp. You can also create an OS pipe to directly pipe it to the other machine. I haven't done the second option myself, however, Where I worked last they were using that option to clone a 1tb database from SGI to HP-UX.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width