Connected to an idle instance.
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Connected to an idle instance.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Fort Smith
    Posts
    184

    Connected to an idle instance.

    here is what I understand when Oracle says connected to an idle instance
    ==============================================================
    Microsoft Windows 2000 [Version 5.00.2195]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2000 Microsoft Corp.


    D:\>set oracle_sid=sridevi
    -- at this stage there is neither service handler (Oracle executable)
    -- nor an instance nor a database
    D:\>sqlplus /nolog
    SQL*Plus: Release 9.2.0.5.0 - Production on Wed Jul 21 22:44:16 2004

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2002, Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

    SQL> connect sys/sys as sysdba
    ERROR:
    ORA-12560: TNS : protocol adapter error

    -- ora-12560 was spit as there was no service handler
    -- listener is up and running.
    -- in the absence of service hadler or connect string no check can be done
    -- to connect to oracle instance

    SQL> connect sys/sys@sridevi as sysdba
    ERROR:
    ORA-12500: TNS:listener failed to start a dedicated server process

    -- even though the connect string has the tns alias which is identifiable
    -- as a service for service by listener.
    -- The process of starting up a dedicated server process failed.
    -- The executable could not be found or
    -- the environment may be set up incorrectly
    -- in this case the executable is not found as the service handler is not started.
    SQL>
    -- I started the service for the oracle instance and set the environment and connected
    SQL> connect sys/sys@sridevi as sysdba
    Connected to an idle instance.
    -- So I am connected to Oracle executable which is ready to serve a instance through a dedicated
    -- service. but no instance is there
    SQL> startup
    ORACLE instance started.
    sonofsita
    http://www.ordba.net

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    I take it that you're someone who's just been "thrown" into this job of administrating a database (or just playing with Oracle). Either way, I would advise you to seriously sit down and read up on the basic understandings of Oracle and how it works before you break something. Once you have the basic concepts down (or have your company send you to some classes) then come back here and ask for advise.

    When you ask what does connected to an idle instance mean, that's like asking what does "P" stand for on the shifter of a car?

    P= Pass
    R= Race
    N= Nitrous
    D= Drag
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Hey OracleDoc, shift into "P" . . . .

    I think you posted this in the wrong thread. sonofsita has made a good start on an article I always intended to write: "101 ways to fail to start a database".

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    175
    People on this board seem to have 101 ways to insult others questions/doubts. OracleDoc, are you always in "R"
    Sridhar R Patnam

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    in windows, you dont need to start any service to start a database

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    175
    Originally posted by pando
    in windows, you dont need to start any service to start a database
    You mean Unix?

    Don't we need to start OracleServiceMyDB on Windows Server?
    Sridhar R Patnam

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    No

    I would like to show you but I uninstalled all my windows Oracle 10 months ago

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    175
    I have 10g on an NT box, can you indicate me to a direction how it can be done

    Thanks
    sridhar
    Sridhar R Patnam

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    do to ms-dos

    sqlplus / as sysdba

    if it says thing like tns errors, set ORACLE_SID=blah, if it still says so go to REGEDIT and add ORACLE_SID in your oracle_home

    rgds

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width