Instant Client
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Instant Client

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    9

    Question Instant Client

    Hello,
    I installed InstantClient, but I'm getting the following error while connecting using SQLPlus:
    Connect failed because target host or object does not exist.

    Can anybody help me with this problem?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    612
    What comes back when you TNSPING the instance you are trying to connect to? I would think that from the limited info you have provided that there isn't an entry for your database instance in your TNSNAMES.ORA file.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    9
    There is an entry for database instance in tnsnames.ora, because I copied this file from original location to the new one.
    Here is what I did:
    1.downloaded zip files and unzipped them
    2.removed all entries for PATH variable related to oracle and added new one pointed to the new directory with unzipped files
    3.created new subdir c:\instantclient\network\admin
    4.copied tnsnames and sqlnet to this folder(admin)from original location(c:\oracle\network\admin)
    Last edited by Alina; 07-13-2004 at 11:15 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    5,253
    Have a read of James' article ... http://www.dbasupport.com/oracle/ora...client01.shtml
    David Aldridge,
    "The Oracle Sponge"

    Senior Manager, Business Intelligence Development
    XM Satellite Radio
    Washington, DC

    Oracle ACE

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    9
    thanks, but I used this article while installing - didn't help

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142

    Re: Instant Client

    Originally posted by Alina
    Connect failed because target host or object does not exist.
    This might be because the target machine can't be found. In tnsnames.ora you will probably have a line like:
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = MyServer)(PORT = 1521))

    Check that you can "ping MyServer" at the OS prompt. If that fails try replacing the host name with its IP address:
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 123.456.789.123)(PORT = 1521))

    (assuming that you can "ping 123.456.789.123" )

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    9
    It works both ways...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    did you set TNS_ADMIN?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Originally posted by slimdave
    Have a read of James' article ... http://www.dbasupport.com/oracle/ora...client01.shtml
    Have you set up TNS_ADMIN?
    Have you tried this?:
    If you would rather not use the tnsnames.ora naming, you can bypass this by using a more descriptive connect string.

    Method: sqlplus {user}/{password}@//{machine}:{port}/{service_name}

    example: sqlplus scott/tiger@//bier.pinehorse.com:1521/daten

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    9
    Yes, I set TNS_ADMIN and tested this connect string - same problem

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width