Physical standby experiences
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Physical standby experiences

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828

    Physical standby experiences

    Hi Folks

    What kind of problems have you faced while managing a standby database can you share it here.
    regards
    Hrishy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    For me, the biggest challenge is to minimize the "down-time" of the standby when it has to be rebuilt following a restore or an unrecoverable/nologging operation on the primary db.

    If the standby is very far from the primary (as it should be for disaster recovery), the data transport may take a considerable time.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    Hee hee get with me in about a month. I'm going to implement one here.

    I'm going with 9.2.0.5 and I think I'll go ahead and use the redo log applied function instead of archive.

    here's my hardware.

    Sun V880 - prod primary. Located down the road about 2 miles.
    Sun E-5500 - prod hot standby. Here locally.
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Originally posted by OracleDoc
    . . . down the road about 2 miles.
    Just the right distance for that classic data transfer method - a boy on a bike!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    Originally posted by DaPi
    For me, the biggest challenge is to minimize the "down-time" of the standby when it has to be rebuilt following a restore or an unrecoverable/nologging operation on the primary db.

    If the standby is very far from the primary (as it should be for disaster recovery), the data transport may take a considerable time.
    You can put force the db into logging mode, correct?
    Can you clarify what you mean by unrecoverable?
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by stmontgo
    You can put force the db into logging mode, correct?
    Yes, with ALTER DATABASE FORCE LOGGING;
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Originally posted by stmontgo
    You can put force the db into logging mode, correct?
    Yes.
    However, I have chosen "nologging" for some big changes at the weekend, knowing that I had plenty of time to rebuild the standby.

    Originally posted by stmontgo
    Can you clarify what you mean by unrecoverable?
    If my memory serves me, the "unrecoverable" keyword was used in version 7 - "nologging" as from version 8.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    807
    I've worked with physical standby's on 7.x,8i,9i - across LANs and WANs. 7.x - manual recovery and logxpt, 8i - manual and managed recovery/logxpt, 9i - managed recovery/logXpt and DG.

    All of the above work beautifully EXCEPT 8i ARCH logxpt and managed recovery across the WAN. It is a piece of cr@p if your WAN is flaky. It doesn't do any GAP resolution. The only way to go is - 'manual', if you're replicating over the WAN.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    Originally posted by Axr2
    I've worked with physical standby's on 7.x,8i,9i - across LANs and WANs. 7.x - manual recovery and logxpt, 8i - manual and managed recovery/logxpt, 9i - managed recovery/logXpt and DG.

    All of the above work beautifully EXCEPT 8i ARCH logxpt and managed recovery across the WAN. It is a piece of cr@p if your WAN is flaky. It doesn't do any GAP resolution. The only way to go is - 'manual', if you're replicating over the WAN.
    get your butt on 9i and stop complaining about gap resolution ;-)
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    807
    I don't have a say in the matter. We are primarily hosters (who also develop, upgrade and support when asked/paid). So much so that even if you were on version 6, we'd only be too happy to host it for you..

    PS : Footer - same as light. Am ready for another.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width