Using Standby for cloning - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: Using Standby for cloning

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    510
    Originally posted by Axr2
    As for Jurij's method, it'll work - Depends if you don't mind retaining the same dbname.
    in 9.2 the DBNEWID utility can be used to change both.

    Thanks.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    807
    Yup. Pick your poison. Do whatever is appropriate/easier in your enviroment and whichever makes sense.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by gopi
    in 9.2 the DBNEWID utility can be used to change both.

    Thanks.
    The utility is called NID, not DBNEWID.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by gopi

    Julian...I need to purchase the Veritas MML Oracle extension in order to use rman to backup to tape (not enought disk) - my management has been warned many times. Once I have rman backups I can duplicate. thanx
    You can use disk backups for cloning. No need for MML in order to run the duplicate command :-)
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by Axr2
    As for Jurij's method, it'll work - Depends if you don't mind retaining the same dbname.
    With NID, he will change it within 5 minutes, what's the biggy?
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Originally posted by julian
    The utility is called NID, not DBNEWID.
    No, the utility is caled "DBNEWID utility". The executable is called "nid".

    It's like you would say: No, the utility is not aclled SQL*Loader, it's caled sqlldr.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by jmodic
    No, the utility is caled "DBNEWID utility". The executable is called "nid".

    It's like you would say: No, the utility is not aclled SQL*Loader, it's caled sqlldr.
    No, it is called NID or DBNEWID.

    Go to note 224266.1:

    "The NID (New Database ID)is a new utility introduced with Oracle 9.2. The NID
    utility allows you to change only the DBNAME, or only the DBID or both
    DBNAME and DBID in the same command. "
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    And you don't say sqlldr, because it is hard to pronounce. Unlike NID.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Oh, give us a break! It's officialy called NEWDBID. A short glimps on the manuals tells it all. http://download-west.oracle.com/docs.../ch14.htm#1656
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    *tap tap is this thing on?

    you could do what we did at my last gig.
    simply take a hot backup of the standby. ftp the datafiles over to your dev. Rename the database, startup using an edited controlfile from prod. Rinse and repeat as neccessary.
    We did this on a nightly basis, we had a Reporting database that users could run thier reports off of instead of having to use prod.
    It's particularly sweet if you're in an unsecure environment and have rsh available to use. If not use the ssh, A couple of scripts and voila` you've got yourself a nightly refresh job.
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width