Standby Database Data Guard
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Standby Database Data Guard

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    EGYPT
    Posts
    4

    Standby Database Data Guard

    1-Deploy Data Guard will apply on standby or prod database or the both?

    Example:
    % cd $ORACLE_HOME/dataguard/bin
    % ./dgdeploy

    2- execute switchover will switch from prod to standby the another execute of switchover will execute the reverse on production database?
    Ahmed Ismail Mahmoud

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    1. Don't know, have allways set up dataguard/standby manualy
    2. Yes
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    EGYPT
    Posts
    4
    any one used data guard in standby database
    Ahmed Ismail Mahmoud

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    what do u mean by used datagaurd on standby database ?

    regards
    Hrishy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    EGYPT
    Posts
    4
    I mean after install data guard software on unix machine there are steps i have to do as follow: -- look at 3rd step
    To Deploy Data Guard:
    1. Start up the production database: Example: % sqlplus ?/ as sysdba? SQL> startup
    2. Mount the standby database: Example: % sqlplus ?/ as sysdba? SQL> startup nomount pfile=$ORACLE_HOME/dbs/initDGSID_stby.ora SQL> alter database mount standby database;
    (((3. Deploy Data Guard:
    Example: % cd $ORACLE_HOME/dataguard/bin % ./dgdeploy )))
    4. Start the Production and Standby Agents: Example: % dgdctl DGDCTL> start all
    5. Verify that the agents are started and that production is open and standby is mounted. Example: DGDCTL> status Test Data Guard Functionality:
    The final step of Data Guard implementation is to test key functionality.
    First, we will make sure that the standby database is recoverable.
    Secondly, we will make sure that we can switch roles: 1. Make sure standby database is recoverable by changing it to read only mode and back to recover mode: Example: DGDCTL> standby r2ro DGDCTL> standby ro2r 2. Make sure that the database can switch roles back and forth between production and standby: Example: DGDCTL> switchover DGDCTL> switchover 3. Test features for your environment. When using features like the alert log parser, recovery lag feature, or the call home feature, it is recommended that you fully test the procedure before implementing it into production
    Ahmed Ismail Mahmoud

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    807
    Yeah, I've performed DG switchovers on 9i. Am not familiar with the dgdeploy thing that you mention. I'll have to look it up.

    I've done'em both manually and via OEM. Both work quite well. See notes 232240.1 and 227196.1 on metalink.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width