IPC Vs TCP for DBLink
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: IPC Vs TCP for DBLink

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    148

    Cool IPC Vs TCP for DBLink

    Hi,
    I guess , Gurus up here did gone thru this...,
    and would like to learn their bullet points .

    What is the performance difference,
    when dblink refers with following protocols mix-match.
    ( Assuming all instances on the same server ).

    1) IPC <-> IPC
    2) IPC <-> TCP
    3) TCP <-> TCP

    Thanks in advance.
    Jr.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Can you achieve first option with DB Links? -- Well i dont think so
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    148
    Yes , We can !!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Well if you give connect string while connecting to a DB then Oracle/OS is bound to use TCP.. Aint it?

    If so how can u achieve your first option?
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Originally posted by abhaysk
    Well if you give connect string while connecting to a DB then Oracle/OS is bound to use TCP.. Aint it?
    Why do you think that Oracle can only use TCP protocol?
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by jmodic
    Why do you think that Oracle can only use TCP protocol?
    Well logically it should be TCP.. Because if you give connect string oracle is bound to search for the listener on the HOST.. And in Listener.Ora you would have mentioned

    Code:
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
            (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = Hostname)(PORT = 1521))
          )
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Code:
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
       (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = nmp)(SERVER=my_server)(PIPE=my_pipe))
    )
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by jmodic
    Code:
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
       (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = nmp)(SERVER=my_server)(PIPE=my_pipe))
    )
    Thas fine but here it was IPC vs TCP.. can you use IPC if there is connect string specified from client/server?
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Originally posted by abhaysk
    Thas fine but here it was IPC vs TCP..
    Right. But you said "... if you give connect string while connecting to a DB then Oracle/OS is bound to use TCP", which certanly is not true, regardles of the initial question.

    Nevertheless, if you want to stick with the original question, how about:
    Code:
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = MY_IPC))
    Why do you think this wouldn't work with the databse links? Original poster explicitely mentioned all instances to be addressed via db links are on the same server, so what's wrong with using IPC for db links?
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi Jurij

    will your stuff work..i was under the impression that IPC cannot work over network say from machine A to machine B it works only on a single machine..

    regards
    Hrishy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width