cloning database in windows 2000
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: cloning database in windows 2000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    13

    cloning database in windows 2000

    I created one database and want to clone the database.I did cloning but when i try to open previous database it is showing Password file is not existing.ie, clone database is overwritting the password file.Can any one suggest me how to rectify the problem.I did in Linux but no problem i faced.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    France
    Posts
    118
    Did you try to recreate the password file using orapwd ? (that's to be done from DOS)
    If there is no solution, it is because there is no problem - Shadok -

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    13
    Originally posted by yanban
    Did you try to recreate the password file using orapwd ? (that's to be done from DOS)
    Yes i created But still it is using the previous passwordfile

    I create like this orapwd orapwd file=pwdtest password=test entries=10

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    France
    Posts
    118
    Yes i created But still it is using the previous passwordfile

    Can you please post the commands/errors when trying to connect to both instances ?
    If there is no solution, it is because there is no problem - Shadok -

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    13
    Originally posted by yanban

    Can you please post the commands/errors when trying to connect to both instances ?
    When i try to connect through cloned database it is working.And when i am trying to connect to the original it is showing error.

    ERROR IN IDENTIFYING THE password file with completed destination

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    France
    Posts
    118
    Can you post the result from SQL+ for both commands:

    connect sys/password@instance1 as sysdba;

    and

    connect sys/password@instance2 as sysdba;
    If there is no solution, it is because there is no problem - Shadok -

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    13
    Originally posted by yanban
    Can you post the result from SQL+ for both commands:

    connect sys/password@instance1 as sysdba;

    and

    connect sys/password@instance2 as sysdba;
    I did like the same what u had given.
    Would u pl give me syntax for how to create password file for the new database to be created.I think before cloning i need to have init.ora,password file,service ..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    France
    Posts
    118
    Of course you will need the init, password, service to be created.

    Don't know what version you're running but you might be interested by the following doc :
    http://metalink.oracle.com/metalink/...T&p_id=73301.1

    Someone might have a more recent link about cloning.
    If there is no solution, it is because there is no problem - Shadok -

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width