recover standby database but got this ora message
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: recover standby database but got this ora message

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391

    recover standby database but got this ora message

    ORA-01547: warning: RECOVER succeeded but OPEN RESETLOGS would get error below
    ORA-01194: file 1 needs more recovery to be consistent


    hi, my standy database is in sync with production, however, i got the above message after the sync is complete. please advise

  2. #2
    Hi,

    You need to apply more archived log. Wait until production db produce more archived log.

    dbase77

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    St. Louis. MO
    Posts
    150
    do a couple of log switches on your primary db, then apply the archives generated to your standby db

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    did you issue recover standby database until cancel using backup controlfile?
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    my archive log list for both instances gives the same log number

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    807
    Your tablespace is possibly still in a backup mode.

    If not - Shutdown the standby. Issue a "create standby controlfile" on source and use this controlfile to mount/recover on the standby. You should be fine, as long as you didn't goof up while creating the standby.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    Originally posted by stmontgo
    did you issue recover standby database until cancel using backup controlfile?
    definitely nope.

    1) being backup mode of tablespaces of the production database
    2) rcp the datafiles to the standby database
    3) create a standby controlfile of the production and copy over to standby
    4) start standby database with nomount option

    then i got the error which i posted in the first thread.

    anything amiss?

    also, in my alert file

    ARC0: Begin FAL archive (thread 1 sequence 114491 destination standby)
    ARC0: FAL archive, source redo log file not found: /oracle/SID/saparch/SIDarch1_114491.dbf
    Errors in file /oracle/SID/saptrace/background/SID_arc0_1101978.trc:
    ORA-19505: failed to identify file "/oracle/SID/saparch/SIDarch1_114491.dbf"
    ORA-27037: unable to obtain file status
    IBM AIX RISC System/6000 Error: 2: No such file or directory
    Additional information: 3
    ARC0: FAL archive failed, see trace file.
    ARCH: FAL archive failed. Archiver continuing
    ORACLE Instance SID - Archival Error. Archiver continuing.
    ARCH: Connecting to console port...
    ORA-16055: FAL request rejected
    ARCH: Connecting to console port...
    Errors in file /oracle/SID/saptrace/background/SID_arc0_1101978.trc:
    ORA-16055: FAL request rejected


    in SID_arc0_1101978.trc, i have found that basically, it is asking me for log files that are past the archive log list given.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    405
    Yes, you have to supply old atchive logs as they are required to recover the blocks that were frozen when you put the tablespace in backup mode in primary database. You have to supply all the archive logs standby database recovery.
    -nagarjuna

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    I take it you have a log_archive_dest_x='SERVICE='?

    It appears from your message that the rfs process has detected a gap in the standby and is attempting to fill the gap by sending over the appropriate log BUT the log is not in the local dest on the primary for Oracle to send it over. Do you use RMAN to backup the logs or an OS job to backup and remove the arch logs?

    The errors also indicate that Oracle will continue to send logs to the standby even though a gap is detected. Each time an arcjive log is produced it will send that log to the stby and will attempt to send any missing logs as well.

    You need to resolve the gap though, do you have the archvive log that it is looking for? can you restore it to /oracle/SID/saparch/ ?

    regards,

    steve
    Last edited by stmontgo; 04-28-2004 at 01:04 AM.
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    really?

    actually, the cause of the errros above is because i do the below

    1) being backup mode for tablespaces
    2) rcp
    3) end backup mode
    4) create standby controlfile
    5) startup
    6) got these errors


    so i changed to the below
    1) create standby controlfile
    2) being bacup mode for tablespaces
    3)rcp
    4) end backup mode for tablespaces
    5) startup
    6) result: beautiful


    comments?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width