ora-03113: end-of-file on communication channel
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: ora-03113: end-of-file on communication channel

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    96

    ora-03113: end-of-file on communication channel

    I am installing Oracle 8i 8.1.7 on Win 2000, The software gets installed sucessfully and while creating database it is giving

    ora-03113: end-of-file on communication channel

    What can be the reason.

    Thanks

    Dilip Patel.
    Dilip Patel
    OCP 8i

    Catch me online at Yahoo: ddpatel256

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Check init%SID%.ora in the Oracle_Home\Database dir.. Probabaly a missing 'ENTER' key.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    96
    Now I am trying to create manually, following are my steps

    1. Password file created
    2. init.ora file created
    3. Oracle service created for Win2000 (ORADIM), Service started
    4. Following is my error stack

    D:\oracle\admin\oracl\create>svrmgrl

    Oracle Server Manager Release 3.1.7.0.0 - Production

    Copyright (c) 1997, 1999, Oracle Corporation. All Rights Reserved.

    ORA-03113: end-of-file on communication channel
    SVRMGR> exit
    Server Manager complete.

    D:\oracle\admin\oracl\create>


    What can be the reason.
    Dilip Patel
    OCP 8i

    Catch me online at Yahoo: ddpatel256

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    88
    Did you set your oracle_sid=%sid-name% ???

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    109
    HI,
    Have u installed on P$ machine?

    praveen

    Originally posted by smoothyc
    Did you set your oracle_sid=%sid-name% ???

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    France
    Posts
    118
    The error might be because your "server" (if that is one) is too small.

    What processor ?
    How much ram ?
    If there is no solution, it is because there is no problem - Shadok -

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    96
    It's AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+ Processor and with 515568 KB RAM ( 512 MB) RAM, so it should not be a problem.

    Installation taken hardly 10 Min.

    Thanks

    Dilip.
    Dilip Patel
    OCP 8i

    Catch me online at Yahoo: ddpatel256

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    96
    Anybody can help pl.

    Dilip.
    Dilip Patel
    OCP 8i

    Catch me online at Yahoo: ddpatel256

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    116
    can oracle being installed on AMD?
    The man called Zorro

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    course it can - its still an x86 processor

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width