ORA-03113: When Creating or Testing DBLink - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: ORA-03113: When Creating or Testing DBLink

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    Running bear I hate to say this but it looks like you need to read up on some things. I would start out by reading up on net manager. Even though you've already done so, I would never mess with the tnsnames.ora manually, that thing is just too fragile, one wrong syntax and the whole thing is messed up. Could you imagine trying to edit a tnsnames with about 20 databases in it? Unless you've got some serious experience under your belt leave the thing alone.
    Anyway, in all honesty you're getting wayyyy to deep into something that is really simple.
    Without having a live conversation to guide you, read up on adding a service name.
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Running Bear, you have gone off on a false trail with namesctl & register - they are for configuring a names server. You sound like you should be trying to set up local naming with tnsnames.ora - the simplest option.

    I strongly recommend NOT to use "Net8 Configuration Assistant" use the "Net8 Assistant" instead - you can see what you are doing. If you can't get anywhere with that, post the tnsnames.ora and sqlnet.ora from your server.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    49
    Using the Net8 Assistant. When I click/double click service naming then Edit - Create. Nothing happens, which is why I tried the Net8 Configuration Assistant that failed then thought right I should try doing it from the command line, getting myself into a state of desperation resulting in me using the wrong tool. Does it sound like the Net8 Assistant isn't installed properly?

    Anyway here is my TSNames.ora
    Code:
    # TNSNAMES.ORA Network Configuration File: I:\ORANT\ora81\network\admin\tnsnames.ora
    # Generated by Oracle configuration tools.
    
    # --------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    EXTPROC_CONNECTION_DATA =
      (DESCRIPTION =
        (ADDRESS_LIST =
          (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC0))
        )
        (CONNECT_DATA =
          (SID = PLSExtProc)
          (PRESENTATION = RO)
        )
      )
    
    # -- FastContinuity Live -- #
    FastCont_Live.Nat.BT.com = 
      (DESCRIPTION =
        (ADDRESS_LIST =
          (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 147.149.112.67)(PORT = 1521))
        )
        (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = fcont)(SERVER = DEDICATED))
      )
    
    # -- FastContinuity BackUp -- #
    FastCont_BackUp.Nat.BT.com = 
      )
      (DESCRIPTION =
        (ADDRESS_LIST =
          (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 147.147.240.167)(PORT = 1521))
        )
        (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = fcont)(SERVER = DEDICATED))
      )
    
    # -- FastContinuity Historic connection -- #
    FCONT.IUSER.IROOT.ADIDOM.COM =
      (DESCRIPTION =
        (ADDRESS_LIST =
          (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = sryndent98)(PORT = 1521))
        )
        (CONNECT_DATA =
          (SERVICE_NAME = fcont)
        )
      )

    SQLNet.ora (Could the default domain name be where my problem is?)
    Code:
    # SQLNET.ORA Network Configuration File: I:\ORANT\ora81\NETWORK\ADMIN\sqlnet.ora
    # Generated by Oracle configuration tools.
    
    NAMES.DEFAULT_DOMAIN = iuser.iroot.adidom.com
    
    SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES= (None)
    
    #NAMES.DEFAULT_DOMAIN= .nat.bt.com
    #NAMES.DIRECTORY_PATH= (TNSNAMES, ONAMES, HOSTNAME)
    # SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES= (NTS)
    
    SQLNET.CRYPTO_SEED = 4fhfguweotcadsfdsafjkdsfqp5f201p45mxskdlfdasf

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    49
    Originally posted by OracleDoc
    I would never mess with the tnsnames.ora manually, that thing is just too fragile, one wrong syntax and the whole thing is messed up.
    Humble apologies gents I see where I've gone wrong I had an extra bracket. Now connects.
    Code:
    # -- FastContinuity BackUp -- #
    FastCont_BackUp.Nat.BT.com = 
      )# Extra bracket here!!
      (DESCRIPTION =
        (ADDRESS_LIST =
          (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 147.147.240.167)(PORT = 1521))
        )
        (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = fcont)(SERVER = DEDICATED))
      )

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Well spotted! Goes to show that a good way to solve a problem is to try to explain it to someone else.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    49

    Thumbs up Resolved

    Dapi & OracleDoc,

    Thanks for all your help, I'm a clown! Since removing the bracket from my tnsnames the net8 Assistant is working, so will be using that in the future. Lesson learnt!

    Regards Al

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width