ORA-01031: insufficient privileges message
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: ORA-01031: insufficient privileges message

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Stevenage
    Posts
    4

    ORA-01031: insufficient privileges message

    Hi

    I have installed Oracle 9 and it has generated the initial db without any problems. The db is running but when I attempt to perform the following

    sqlplus /nolog

    connect / as sysdba
    or
    connect system/@DB AS systdba

    I get the ORA-01031: insufficient privileges message.

    I understand that this may be a groups issue but the Oracle9 user is assigned to the dba group although the Primary group is orainventory.

    I have just investigated this further and can do a

    conn sys/ as sysdba

    I am missing something here. Apologies for the dumb questions but I haven't touched DBA work for 2-3 years so a little rusty !!

    Kevin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    authentication mode?
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    405
    open your sqlnet.ora file and uncomment "SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES" parameter
    -nagarjuna

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    66
    Kevin
    Check remote_login_passwordfile init.ora parameter.
    If it is "exclusive", then u need to create a password file.
    use the orapwd utility to create it
    $orapwd file=orapwtest password=pwd entries=5
    I suggest u create another user with DBA privileges and create the password file, and set the remote_login_passwordfile=exclusive.
    SQL>create user dbmon identified by ...
    SQL>grant connect, resource, dba, sysdba to dbmon;

    Now on any client machine u can connect as sysdba.

    c:\>>sqlplus /nolog
    SQL>connect dbmon@ as sysdba
    Enter password: -- enter the pwd
    Connected.
    SQL>

    Hope this helps.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by nagarjuna
    open your sqlnet.ora file and uncomment "SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES" parameter
    There is no sqlnet.ora. I am doing that on the server.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by suhasd75
    Kevin
    Check remote_login_passwordfile init.ora parameter.
    If it is "exclusive", then u need to create a password file.
    use the orapwd utility to create it
    $orapwd file=orapwtest password=pwd entries=5
    I suggest u create another user with DBA privileges and create the password file, and set the remote_login_passwordfile=exclusive.
    SQL>create user dbmon identified by ...
    SQL>grant connect, resource, dba, sysdba to dbmon;

    Now on any client machine u can connect as sysdba.

    c:\>>sqlplus /nolog
    SQL>connect dbmon@ as sysdba
    Enter password: -- enter the pwd
    Connected.
    SQL>

    Hope this helps.
    remote_login_passwordfile=exclusive and of course I have the password file. And moreover, I am running the command on the server side.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by julian
    There is no sqlnet.ora. I am doing that on the server.
    What if u r doing on server.. sqlnet.ora has no role here?? ..
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by abhaysk
    What if u r doing on server.. sqlnet.ora has no role here?? ..
    Gee, I answered the wrong thread. Sorry :-)

    I had the following problem:

    SQL> conn / as sysdba
    Connected.
    SQL> exec dbms_stats.gather_fixed_objects_stats('ALL');
    BEGIN dbms_stats.gather_fixed_objects_stats('ALL'); END;

    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-20000: Insufficient privileges to analyze an object in Fixed Ob
    ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_STATS", line 11802
    ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_STATS", line 12085
    ORA-06512: at "SYS.DBMS_STATS", line 12599
    ORA-06512: at line 1

    SQL> select * from v$version;

    BANNER
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Oracle Database 10g Enterprise Edition Release 10.1.0.2.0 - 64bi
    PL/SQL Release 10.1.0.2.0 - Production
    CORE 10.1.0.2.0 Production
    TNS for Solaris: Version 10.1.0.2.0 - Production
    NLSRTL Version 10.1.0.2.0 - Production

    What do you suggest??
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by julian
    What do you suggest??
    Open a case with Oracle.. in metalink
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by abhaysk
    Open a case with Oracle.. in metalink
    :-( Thanks. Never crossed my mind :-)
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width