RMAN recovery catalog
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: RMAN recovery catalog

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    312

    RMAN recovery catalog

    Please confirm this for me.

    I remember I open one the thread in here about RMAN b/c I had some issues with RMAN. Any way, the question is "can we have RMAN catalog on diffrent server with the target database???" From what I know, when I had problem with RMAN, one of the peers advise that my problem was RMAN recovery catalog is on diiferent server with my target database which was right b/c I moved RMAN to the same server and it worked ok. I am reading RMAN 9i book now, and it said I can have RMAN on on the administrator desptop which is different location with the target database.

    I am little bit confused.

    Please advise.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    52
    Hi you can have RMAN on a different location (server) from the target.
    But you have to pay attention to your backup destinations.
    If disks : The proper volumes/partitions need to be mounted on the target server.
    If tape : the tape device need to be attached to that machine.

    Hope that I made it clear despite my broken english.

    Latyr

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    312
    Plus on 9i, we don't have to use Recovery Catalog anymore??? We used COntrolfile instead, right???

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    Originally posted by learning_bee
    Plus on 9i, we don't have to use Recovery Catalog anymore??? We used COntrolfile instead, right???
    the option to use controlfile is available right since 8.0. But using catalog has certain advantages.
    Sanjay G.
    Oracle Certified Professional 8i, 9i.

    "The degree of normality in a database is inversely proportional to that of its DBA"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    I'd much prefer to have target and catalog on different servers. In my case I'm thinking of having them in different cities! (Is that paranoia?)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    52
    Originally posted by DaPi
    I'd much prefer to have target and catalog on different servers. In my case I'm thinking of having them in different cities! (Is that paranoia?)
    Not specially.
    I don't believe that their is a big bandwith issue as the datas are kackup locally, I mean to devices (disks or tapes) attached to the target.
    But if you need much security have you ever think about using RMAN to build a stand-by database ???

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Originally posted by Latyr
    But if you need much security have you ever think about using RMAN to build a stand-by database ???
    Yup. That IS in a different city! (I actualy built it with cold backup - but that's history).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    52
    Originally posted by DaPi
    Yup. That IS in a different city! (I actualy built it with cold backup - but that's history).
    Never thought about using RMAN ?
    Jus for my curiosity (I am a newbie junior DBA) how did you that ?
    Iknow that RMAN is the good way to go but still interresting to know how can one do without it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    As I said it's (ancient) history - the standby was first created under 7.3.4. I put together a bunch of scripts & instructions which have been used ever since - with B&R, using tried & tested methods gives a nice warm secure feeling - worked when re-establishing under 8 and 8i.

    From what I read, any kind of "approved" backup will do - basically as long as a RECOVER command will work on it.

    Oracle actually suggests a cold backup in the 8i doc. http://download-west.oracle.com/docs...ndby.htm#25948

    Salut, bonne chance.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width