Is this a good RAID0 configuration for oracle files?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Is this a good RAID0 configuration for oracle files?

  1. #1
    newbie5 is offline Call me super inquisitive
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    178

    Is this a good RAID0 configuration for oracle files?

    We have an IBM 3HDD W2K server on RAID0. On Disk 1 has windows OS and Oracle OS. I want to config the oracle files as following:

    Disk1: controlfile1, REDO files(1,2,3), datafile1, indexfile1
    Disk2: controlfile2, UNDOTBS, datafile2, indexfile2
    Disk3: controlfile3, TEMP tablespace, datafile3, indexfile3

    Is this a good config? RAID level can not be modified or server reconfigured. Each HDD is 18G but space is not an issue. We are running 9.2.0.4.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092

    Re: Is this a good RAID0 configuration for oracle files?

    Originally posted by newbie5
    We have an IBM 3HDD W2K server on RAID0. On Disk 1 has windows OS and Oracle OS. I want to config the oracle files as following:

    Disk1: controlfile1, REDO files(1,2,3), datafile1, indexfile1
    Disk2: controlfile2, UNDOTBS, datafile2, indexfile2
    Disk3: controlfile3, TEMP tablespace, datafile3, indexfile3

    Is this a good config? RAID level can not be modified or server reconfigured. Each HDD is 18G but space is not an issue. We are running 9.2.0.4.
    RAID 0 is only good for files you can lose; ie. TEMP, software, etc. Putting datafiles on RAID 0 is BAD, BAD, BAD.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Given that it has to be done and that it has to be done on RAID0:
    - you should multiplex the REDO - have 3 files per group, one on each disk
    - frequent backups
    - run in ARCHIVELOG mode
    - cherish your archlogs (copy them EVERYWHERE)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    from what you say it seems that you are going to put datafiles in corresponding disks you are talking about, that confuses me, if itīs RAID-0 how can you have that control?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Ah! did he mean striping (RAID zero), or did he mean NO RAID (zero RAID)? I ASSumed the second . . . .

  6. #6
    newbie5 is offline Call me super inquisitive
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    178
    Yes. It is a NO RAID situation with C:, D: and E: drives. However, can I not have a RAID0 3HDD with 3 logical partitions C:, D and E:?
    Last edited by newbie5; 02-26-2004 at 11:47 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Why? What would be the point of 3 logical devices?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  8. #8
    newbie5 is offline Call me super inquisitive
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    178
    multiplexing? I realize that there will be no performance gain in I/O.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by newbie5
    multiplexing? I realize that there will be no performance gain in I/O.
    What happens if one of you disks goes bad? You lose all three filesystems.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    WOOOOHA . . .

    Stop me when I go wrong:

    You have three physical disks - let's call them 0, 1, 2.

    You do not have a hardware RAID controller - or if you do, you aren't allowed to change the config.

    The Win2K Disk Administrator sees three disks 0, 1, 2.

    AFAIK at this point the only reason to "stripe" is for performance.

    Oracle will multiplex Control and RedoLog files, but you only get full value of doing that if that each member of the "group" goes to a different physical disk.***

    If you have logical drives (C: D: & E: ) striped across the physical disks, then most files will have blocks on all three disks and a disk failure will wreck them all.

    *** Corrected following Tim Hall's post - see below.
    Last edited by DaPi; 03-01-2004 at 10:04 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width