ORA-04031: unable to allocate 8388608 bytes of shared memory ("large - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: ORA-04031: unable to allocate 8388608 bytes of shared memory ("large

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    16
    Dear Abhay,

    I changed it to dedicated ,and made the changes in sort area and shared_pool_reserved_size
    now its working and thank you ,will changing to dedicated create any problems ...Can u explain me in whats the difference between the two..


    I liked your quote...And I try to follow it...

    Ramesh

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by rameshbabumande
    will changing to dedicated create any problems ...Can u explain me in whats the difference between the two..


    I liked your quote...And I try to follow it...

    Ramesh
    Ofcourse not, but depends on what kind of DB u have designed .. ( OLTP or DW ).

    In dedicated mode, each user process will have a dedicated conn to the server.

    In MTS mode, you can imagine like a multiplexing kinda concept..

    RTM and understand why the parameters that u specifed before were causing porblems.. and how its related to MTS/Dedicated.

    Abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    16
    Its basically a 3 tier system , so around 400 clients access the database ,and commit or rollback their data , so creating a dedicated conn create any resource problems ...

    Thank you for solving the issue

    Ramesh.M

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    It is still unclear if you have a large_pool_size of 0 or not.

    Run: conn / as sysdba

    and then:

    show parameter large

    More important: you have a non-patched version of Oracle 9iR1. Having a possible memory leak is more than normal.

    Patch Oracle!
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    16
    Dear Julian


    I ran the show parameter large in sqlplus

    its gave this

    Large pool size 7048560


    More important: you have a non-patched version of Oracle 9iR1. Having a possible memory leak is more than normal.


    So what to do regrading the patch , whats the patch number so that I can run the patch...

    Regards,
    Ramesh.M

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by rameshbabumande
    so around 400 clients access the database ,
    Shud not be any problems..
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by julian
    Having a possible memory leak is more than normal.
    Quite not sure what u mean here..
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    7M is a small value for the large pool. I assume that you are having a memory leak/bug because of using a basic version.

    Apply patch 9.0.1.5.0. You can dowload it from Metalink.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    334
    Originally posted by abhaysk
    Shud not be any problems..
    Not Necessarily. He needs to see how much PGA each session takes. Add it up and see how much Memory it is, because that's in addition to the SGA. I once had an app that had less than 50 connections, but each one was taking ~25Meg. (I know, bad app.. but I couldn't change it) The Machine only had 2 Gig of memory. I was swapping like CRAZY. Switched to MTS, no more problems.

    Just an FYI...

    Jodie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width