problem in uncompressing
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: problem in uncompressing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    462

    problem in uncompressing

    Hi ,

    We have filesystem of 3096000 KB . and my compressed export dump is 1771997 KB . now when i try to uncompress my file filesystem is getting filled up and not uncompressing the export dump . could anybody tell me if there is work around to uncompress the export dump .

    also could you suggest if I could ftp compressed file from unix to windows and uncompress that and ftp this back .

    appreciate your quick response .

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    5,253
    yu can pipe the file through uncompress and straight into the import program ... search the forum for "uncompress export pipe", or something like that
    David Aldridge,
    "The Oracle Sponge"

    Senior Manager, Business Intelligence Development
    XM Satellite Radio
    Washington, DC

    Oracle ACE

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    462
    Slimdave ,

    Thanks .... but , does this uncompress before doing the import .. ??
    will the performance become slow while importing from compressed
    file.

    How can i test this script without importing to the database ?? I think we can do this using file == in imp par file .

    am i missing anything .

    #!/bin/ksh
    rm -r /tmp/imp_pipe
    mknod /tmp/imp_pipe
    uncompress < FullExport.dmp.Z > /tmp/imp_pipe & sleep 3 $ORACLE_HOME/bin/imp file=/tmp/imp_pipe parfile=import.par
    Last edited by prakashs43; 03-04-2004 at 11:57 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, USA
    Posts
    330
    looks good to me..
    Thanks,
    Thanigaivasan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    Originally posted by prakashs43

    How can i test this script without importing to the database ?? I think we can do this using file == in imp par file
    SHOW=Y. It will not import any data.
    Sanjay G.
    Oracle Certified Professional 8i, 9i.

    "The degree of normality in a database is inversely proportional to that of its DBA"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, USA
    Posts
    330
    Please ref Oracle Database Handbook it explains with examples..
    Thanks,
    Thanigaivasan.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    462
    Hi ,

    Now we have added new disks successfully but when i try to uncompress the export dump this is failing filesize too large .

    could you suggest how to fix that .

    i suspect it has filesize limitation set in solaris .
    how can i check this .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    I'm no UNIX guy, but you might have 2GB limit on file size.
    If so, you will have to limit filesize in the export:

    FILESIZE=1GB
    FILE=(file1, file2, file3, file4)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    462
    i checked if there is any filesize limitation using ulimit -a command
    . but as per my interpretation there is no such limitation

    P-Oracle /export/home/oracle >ulimit -a
    time(seconds) unlimited
    file(blocks) unlimited
    data(kbytes) unlimited
    stack(kbytes) 8192
    coredump(blocks) unlimited
    nofiles(descriptors) 256
    vmemory(kbytes) unlimited

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,131
    As Dave said, you can use a pipe and it will not uncompress the file.
    Do you have space on the mount point?

    bdf.

    MH
    I remember when this place was cool.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width