How can find out our OS is 32 bit or 64 bit
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How can find out our OS is 32 bit or 64 bit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    182

    How can find out our OS is 32 bit or 64 bit

    How can find out our OS is 32 bit or 64 bit
    J Gangadhar

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    64
    Don't you know what OS is installed. If it is windows go to control panel/system. There is written the version of windows.
    If it is linux when you startup you see the version. If it is 64bit i suppose it will be shown (not sure).

    And at last if you have 32bit cpu you can't install 64bit OS

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    115
    try this

    Use the isalist command to determine whether the machine is running
    the 32-bit or 64-bit operating system. If you are running the 64-bit
    operating system on an UltraSPARC machine, then isalist will list sparcv9 first



    http://www.harmanresearch.com/solari...ng32bitor64bit

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, USA
    Posts
    330
    connect to database using sqlplus..will get the result..
    default is 32bit..
    see below..
    SQL*Plus: Release 9.2.0.1.0 - Production on Tue Feb 17 15:36:49 2004
    Copyright (c) 1982, 2002, Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

    Connected to:
    Oracle9i Enterprise Edition Release 9.2.0.1.0 - 64bit Production
    With the Partitioning, OLAP and Oracle Data Mining options
    JServer Release 9.2.0.1.0 - Production

    SQL>
    Thanks,
    Thanigaivasan,

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    no thats tells you if your oracle software id the 32or 64 bit version, won't tell you anything about the OS

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    36

    Thumbs up

    Hi,

    isainfo -b

    Thanks
    Regards

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    353
    Originally posted by arokh
    If it is windows go to control panel/system. There is written the version of windows.
    It is not showing

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    36
    Hi,
    I suppose this is for Solaris.

    when u run isainfo -b it returns a number which is the bit information for your system.

    in my case isainfo -b returns
    64

    which mean my solaris is 64bit.
    Please let me know your operating system...I will try to send the command specific to your OS.

    Thanks
    Regards

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    353
    Win2k

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width