Cann't connect as SYSDBA
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Cann't connect as SYSDBA

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    521

    Cann't connect as SYSDBA

    OS : HPUX 11i
    DB : 806

    The problem seems to have happened all of a sudden.

    We have a server running 3 databases. "oracle" is the unix user that owns oracle installation and databases. Its in "dba" group.
    I log in to the server as "oracle" user, set ORACLE_SID (through oraenv) and invoke "svrmgrl". When I say "connect internal" at the "SVRMGR>" prompt, it asks for "Password:" !! I don't think this has happened ever before. The databases are running there for last 4 years. When I try any password at the "Password:" prompt, it gives me "ORA-01031" error.

    So far, going through all notes and documents, I have checked following things (Metalink Note 69642.1) :
    01. The "oracle" user is really still in "dba" group.
    02. The "dba" group entry exists in /etc/group and exists only once.
    03. The config.c file indeed has "dba" as the group definition.
    04. At our site "sqlnet.ora" doesn't exist. We don't use it.
    05. Permissions on all *.ora files in $TNS_ADMIN directory are "-rw-r--r--".
    06. ORACLE_HOME variable is defined correctly and the path exists.
    07. ORACLE_SID is set to SID of an existing database that is running fine.
    08. TWO_TASK is NOT set.
    09. Permissions on "oracle" executable are indeed "rwsr-s--x".
    10. File systems are mounted without "nosuid" option.
    11. There are no extra shared mem segments (used ipcs -b).
    12. Checked with Unix SAs if anything has changed at server level. "NO".

    We had changed our SYS/SYSTEM passwords last week. We suspected that as a cause but, had that been the case, the failures in "connect internal" should have happened immediately after the password change.
    There is remote authentication in use. The "remote_password_file" parameter is set to "none".

    Another way I tested the things was : set ORACLE_SID, ran "sqlplus /". Works fine, connects successfully. When I say "conn sys as sysdba" at the "SQL>" prompt, it fails with same ORA-1031 error.

    What am I missing ? And, how could I resolve this issue ? We have quite a few cron jobs and monitoring scripts that do "connect internal" and all of them are failing.
    svk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Hmm, something changed. Did you bounce your db (maybe for backup) and new init.ora parameters were used?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    521
    Apart from the SYS and SYSTEM passwords, nothing has changed. The databases are running there fine.

    But then again, "nothing has changed" is just a feeling !! Something must have changed to cause this to happen.

    Any inputs appreciated folks....
    svk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Champaign, Illinois USA
    Posts
    10

    Arrow

    I have experienced this type of problem (svrmgrl and sqlplus / asking for password
    unexpectedly) when the sqlnet.ora parameter AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES was set to "none". Make sure that it has a different value or is not set in your OraNet. This is one of the things that can cause the situation...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Champaign, Illinois USA
    Posts
    10
    ok I see that you don't have a sqlnet.ora.. never mind on that one.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    Try creating a new orapwd file, using a password you know. There is an article on MetaLink and at asktom about sync-ing up passwords with the orapwd file.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Champaign, Illinois USA
    Posts
    10
    By chance, are you running a version of OraNet different than 8.0.6 ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    521
    Stecal : I have tried recreating the password file. Didn't help. And I guess, that is expected.

    saundman2000 : What is OraNet ?
    svk

  9. #9
    Hi,
    sound stupid but maybe useful, can you try to reboot your hpux and maybe it works?

    Regards
    www.cnoug.org

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    182
    $ unset TWO_TASK
    J Gangadhar

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width