Installing 8i and 9i on the same AIX box
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Installing 8i and 9i on the same AIX box

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    48

    Lightbulb Installing 8i and 9i on the same AIX box

    I'd like to install both 8i and 9i on the same AIX box. Is it doable?
    If so, I assume I need one ORACLE_HOME for each release.
    Is it possible to have the same database SID for 8i and 9i releases on the same box?
    What other areas I need to pay attention to in order to support two different releases on the same box?
    Any white paper I can reference?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    yes
    yes
    I woudn't do that.
    make sure you have enough resources.
    yes (metalink.oracle.com)
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    510
    Make sure you point to the correct oracle home when you change the SID. We use a shell script that changes the environment when we type the SID at command prompt.

    That's why as Jeff said, even though you can technically have the same SID in both 8i and 9i, it easy to get confused and make silly mistakes, which you will regret later.
    Remember the Golden Rule - He who has the gold makes the rules!
    ===================
    Kris109
    Ph.D., OCP 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g DBA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    36

    Lightbulb No Probs

    Hi,
    AS per having multiple oracle homes are comcerned, it is not a problem. We have almost 6 different verions of Oracle Running on the same box. I wouls suggest that you should keep different Oracle SID and create shell script for user login which help you point to the right oracle home. I would suggest different OS user for all the databases on the box. This will help a lot.
    Be very careful with using the different verions of oracle, I have faced problems during the initial setup, but slowly with maximum automation they have all solved.
    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    510

    Re: No Probs

    Originally posted by apunhiran
    Hi,
    I would suggest different OS user for all the databases on the box. This will help a lot.
    Thanks
    Uhh.. What?
    Remember the Golden Rule - He who has the gold makes the rules!
    ===================
    Kris109
    Ph.D., OCP 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g DBA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092

    Re: Re: No Probs

    Originally posted by kris109
    Uhh.. What?
    I've seen a lot of shops that do this. They'll have one user (oracle8174) for the 8.1.7.4 software, oracle9204 for the 9.2.0.4 software, oracle9202 for the 9.2.0.2 software, etc. Personally, I think some shops do this because they either don't understand how to set an environment or don't understand about groups and permissions. (or they're on windoz).
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    510
    Amen Jeff. We (our DBA group) manage about 120 instances on Solaris, SPARC GENERIC, HP-UX, Fujitsu boxes... Just one user..Oracle..
    Remember the Golden Rule - He who has the gold makes the rules!
    ===================
    Kris109
    Ph.D., OCP 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g DBA

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439

    Re: Re: Re: No Probs

    Originally posted by marist89
    IPersonally, I think some shops do this because ..... they're on windoz).
    That last part I realy don't understand. What windoz have to do with the subject?
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    I think because you have to use home selector as oraenv in windows so create a user for each version is faster... hmm I think

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width