SERVERERROR Trigger
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: SERVERERROR Trigger

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250

    SERVERERROR Trigger

    Hi everyone,
    I have question on the SERVERERROR Trigger after servererror

    where want to trace if there Oracle not available.

    If the Oracle not available anymore, how can it be able to perform the database activity like writing the log or email to the administrator ?

    Thanks.

    Regards,
    ckwan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    obviously you cannot use a trigger for that, common sense!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250
    Yes, you are right. It is impossible according to Oracle documentation.

    Actually what I want to achieve here is I am using db link to transfer data over to another database. If the remote database is down, I will expecting the error return back. Thus I can use whatever error return back to email or write into the logs.

    Any better idea to trace this kind of situation ?

    Thanks
    Regards,
    ckwan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by ckwan
    Yes, you are right. It is impossible according to Oracle documentation.

    Actually what I want to achieve here is I am using db link to transfer data over to another database. If the remote database is down, I will expecting the error return back. Thus I can use whatever error return back to email or write into the logs.

    Any better idea to trace this kind of situation ?

    Thanks
    Regards,
    ckwan
    You may have a procedure that selects 'X' from dual via the DB link. WHEN OTHERS then: something's wrong and send the email to whomever.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250
    Hi Julian,
    you are right that I can just select dummy from dual@dblink
    but upon when u need to run this procedure. You must have an event that trigger it out.

    Thanks.

    Regards,
    ckwan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by ckwan
    Hi Julian,
    you are right that I can just select dummy from dual@dblink
    but upon when u need to run this procedure. You must have an event that trigger it out.

    Thanks.

    Regards,
    ckwan
    Create some DBMS_JOB for that?
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width