Very Odd, Sqlplus Is Not Working
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Very Odd, Sqlplus Is Not Working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    312

    Very Odd, Sqlplus Is Not Working

    Hi all,

    I have two Oracle home (8.1.7, 9.2.0) running on the windows 2000 server. when I set the environment and try to create the database for the 9i version. When I issue:

    SQL> connect sys/blah as sysdba

    I got the ORA-03113, end of file communication


    but when I used

    SVRMGRL> connect sys/blah as sysdba
    Connected.


    I did set the environment:

    C:\SET ORACLE_SID=TEST


    C:\SET ORACLE
    TEST


    what's going on??? this is odd, I never have this problem before.
    Last edited by learning_bee; 01-05-2004 at 12:12 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    73
    Looks like your ORACLE_HOME is pointing to 8.1.7
    Set the ORACLE_HOME to 9.2.0 and try again.
    OCP 7.3,8.0,8i,9i

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    4
    Try set TNS_ADMIN to Ora92 network\admin (for example set TNS_ADMIN=C:\Ora92\network\admin) and start SQL Plus from Ora92\bin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    tns_admin has got nothing to do with starting this database

    he did set ORACLE_SID, therefore not going over the network using net8

    read the concepts guide.

    As the other guy said it looks like your environemtn is a bit funny as svrmgrl doesnt exist in 9i, so give us the output of "set"
    Last edited by davey23uk; 01-05-2004 at 04:05 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    78
    You will have to either use the Oracle Home Selector or write a batch file that changes your PATH environment variable to the correct home...

    9i.bat

    PATH=c:\oracle\ora91\bin;%PATH%

    8i.bat

    PATH=c:\oracle\ora81\bin:%PATH%

    HTH
    John

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    312
    as I said, I have done this about over 10 times and I never experience this problem. Any way, I did change the Oracle home to 9i and I did set ORACLE_SID= test and when I type set ORACLE, it had the right environment there. the problem still existed and it's only work on SVRMGRL and if I changed the primary back to 8i, it worked with SQLPLUS and SVRMGRL.

    any thought???

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    how can it work on svrmgrl, svrmgrl doesnt work on 9i - it doesnt exist it isnt there

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    312
    true, SVRMGRL doesn't exist on 9i; however, SVRMGRL will work b/c 8i still exist on the box. anyway, I found the problem comment out SQL.AUTHENTICATION_services=NTS and every thing is ok.

    thanks dave

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    You're missing a fundamental point. You shouldn't be using svrmgrl to startup and shutdown your 9i database.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    78
    Can you post your environment variables? Use the following...

    c:\> set > c:\temp\env.txt

    and then paste the contents into a post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width