unable to login in isqlplus(sql,pl/sql browser facility of Oracle 9i)
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: unable to login in isqlplus(sql,pl/sql browser facility of Oracle 9i)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    2

    unable to login in isqlplus(sql,pl/sql browser facility of Oracle 9i)

    Hi,
    I am new to Oracle 9i database administration.My problem is that I am unable to enter in isqlplus as sysdba.However I am able to login easily as user.I am trying to enter in my system database named orcl.I have tried to enter as username-sys and default password-change_on_install.
    However i am not facing any problem in login either from command promt or from sqlplus with the same username and password.
    Kindly help me to solve my problem.
    You can also send the answer to me by email at saurabhverma2003@indiatimes.com
    Regards,
    Saurabh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    To connect as a sysdbb or SYSOPER you need to invkoe

    "https://serverort/isqlplusdba"

    Pre-requsite is to create the password file for the webserver authentication. example

    $ORACLE_HOME/Apache/Apache/bin/htpasswd iplusdba.pw oracle
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by Thomasps
    To connect as a sysdbb or SYSOPER you need to invkoe

    "https://serverort/isqlplusdba"

    Pre-requsite is to create the password file for the webserver authentication. example

    $ORACLE_HOME/Apache/Apache/bin/htpasswd iplusdba.pw oracle
    If you have apache running on your client machine (as I have, in order to connect to 100s of database servers via isqlplus), then you add your username and password to iplusdba.pw, which probably is not oracle :-)
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Julian,

    I am doing the same thing. Installed oracle with apache in my client machine and created password file (in apache, gave the apache username "ORACLE" - I don't think it is a problem and working fine for me) . Created an Oracle user "thomas" with SYSDBA (so oracle pwd file exists) priviliages. In this way I didn't face any problem connecting to any number of databases in different servers.
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by Thomasps
    Julian,

    I am doing the same thing. Installed oracle with apache in my client machine and created password file (in apache, gave the apache username "ORACLE" - I don't think it is a problem and working fine for me) . Created an Oracle user "thomas" with SYSDBA (so oracle pwd file exists) priviliages. In this way I didn't face any problem connecting to any number of databases in different servers.
    I don't get very much of what you are trying to tell me. Where did you crea "an Oracle user "thomas" with SYSDBA"? In each databases?
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Yes, In each database.
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width