URGENT - Cannot switch logfile while importing!
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: URGENT - Cannot switch logfile while importing!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    35

    Exclamation URGENT - Cannot switch logfile while importing!

    Hi,

    Oracle 8.1.7.2

    I've issued the command to switch log

    > alter system switch logfile;

    but its hanging!!

    the v$log looks like this

    GROUP# SEQUENCE# BYTES MEMBERS ARC STATUS FIRST_TIME
    ------- --------- --------- --------- --- ---------------- ----------
    9 22525 10485760 2 NO ACTIVE 28/12/2003
    7 22526 10485760 2 NO ACTIVE 28/12/2003
    10 22527 52428800 2 NO ACTIVE 28/12/2003
    11 22528 52428800 2 NO ACTIVE 28/12/2003
    12 22529 52428800 2 NO ACTIVE 28/12/2003
    13 22530 52428800 2 NO CURRENT 28/12/2003


    The db is not in archivelog mode... I'm importing so I switched it off..

    Please help!! URGENT!!

    P.S - I was trying to create bigger logfiles and wanted to drop the old (small) ones... but they are ACTIVE.

    Kev

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    how did you shut off archiving? are you sure you shut it off?

    anything of interest in the alert log?
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    I think your database is still in archive log mode.

    First checkout your database is in archive mode or noarchivemode.
    Code:
    sqlplus "/ as sysdba"
    archive log list
    Thomas
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938

    Re: URGENT - Cannot switch logfile while importing!

    Originally posted by krw
    Hi,

    Oracle 8.1.7.2

    I've issued the command to switch log

    > alter system switch logfile;

    but its hanging!!

    the v$log looks like this

    GROUP# SEQUENCE# BYTES MEMBERS ARC STATUS FIRST_TIME
    ------- --------- --------- --------- --- ---------------- ----------
    9 22525 10485760 2 NO ACTIVE 28/12/2003
    7 22526 10485760 2 NO ACTIVE 28/12/2003
    10 22527 52428800 2 NO ACTIVE 28/12/2003
    11 22528 52428800 2 NO ACTIVE 28/12/2003
    12 22529 52428800 2 NO ACTIVE 28/12/2003
    13 22530 52428800 2 NO CURRENT 28/12/2003


    The db is not in archivelog mode... I'm importing so I switched it off..

    Please help!! URGENT!!

    P.S - I was trying to create bigger logfiles and wanted to drop the old (small) ones... but they are ACTIVE.

    Kev
    Is log_archive_start=true? After you switched to noarchivelog mode, did you stop also the archiver?

    log_archive_start should be false!

    BTW, this parameter is obsolete in 10g.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758

    Re: Re: URGENT - Cannot switch logfile while importing!

    Originally posted by julian
    Is log_archive_start=true? After you switched to noarchivelog mode, did you stop also the archiver?

    log_archive_start should be false!

    BTW, this parameter is obsolete in 10g.
    Correct me if I am wrong BUT as per my understanding LOG_ARCHIVE_START value doesn't matter when you have switched to NOARCHIVELOG mode.

    BTW Julian, where are you getting 10g information from? Did you get Docs with the beta copy??
    Last edited by SANJAY_G; 12-29-2003 at 07:41 AM.
    Sanjay G.
    Oracle Certified Professional 8i, 9i.

    "The degree of normality in a database is inversely proportional to that of its DBA"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    chennai
    Posts
    69
    check whether you have put the db in noarchive mode
    If you have stopped the archive process and not the archive log mode, then every time when a log switch happens, oracle will expect you to do archiving manually. until it is done the db will hang.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Code:
    SQL> show parameter log_archive_start
    
    NAME                                 TYPE        VALUE                          
    ------------------------------------ ----------- ------------------------------ 
    log_archive_start                    boolean     TRUE                    
    
    SQL> alter system switch logfile;
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL>  alter system switch logfile;
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL> /
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL> /
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL> /
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL> /
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL> /
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL> /
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL> /
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL> /
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL> /
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL> /
    
    System altered.
    
    SQL> archive log list;
    Database log mode              No Archive Mode
    Automatic archival             Enabled
    Archive destination            D:\oracle\data\test\archive
    Oldest online log sequence     35
    Current log sequence           37
    In noarchivelog mode the parameter log_archive_start =TRUE/FALSE will not make any difference.

    Thomas
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    india
    Posts
    175
    hi,

    won't it hang, if all the members of the current
    online redo log group is missing/corrupt?

    did you try restarting the server?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by rajabalachandra
    hi,

    won't it hang, if all the members of the current

    online redo log group is missing/corrupt?

    did you try restarting the server?
    Yes, it will hang, that is what is actually happening.

    Change the parameter to false and bounce the instance.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Originally posted by julian
    Yes, it will hang, that is what is actually happening.

    Change the parameter to false and bounce the instance.
    Which parameter you are refering..? log_archive_start? I tried, didn't get any problem.

    Thomas
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width