nologging in primary - how to maintain standby
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: nologging in primary - how to maintain standby

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    india
    Posts
    175

    nologging in primary - how to maintain standby

    hi,

    i have a question.

    consider the scenario:

    i am the dba.

    i have a primary database and a standby database.

    my standby database is updated with the archived logs
    from the primary database.

    if any of my users update the primary database with
    nologging option, the standby database becomes outdated.

    is there any privilege to prevent the users from using
    the nologging option?

    or

    is there any query to identify that an user has updated
    with nologging option.
    (at what time or which datafiles/tablespace got affected).


    -Raja

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, ON Canada
    Posts
    3
    You can use v$datafile -> UNRECOVERABLE_TIME to see the files that needs to be re-transfered to the standby site.

    In 9i you can use "alter tablespace force logging;" to prevent users from making nologging changes.

    Cheers,

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    You would probably want to force the logging on the whole database, not only on particular tablespaces. So this wariation of the above command is probably more handy:
    Code:
    alter DATABASE force logging;
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    india
    Posts
    175
    hi,

    thank you for the response!

    is there any option in oracle8i to force logging?

    -Raja

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    In 8i..you do not have this option

    regards
    Hrishy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by jmodic
    You would probably want to force the logging on the whole database, not only on particular tablespaces. So this wariation of the above command is probably more handy:
    Code:
    alter DATABASE force logging;
    BTW, does anyone know how to undo that command?
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Originally posted by julian
    BTW, does anyone know how to undo that command?
    In SQL Manual it says you can use the same command with "NO" option to reverse the effect of FORCE LOGGING, eg
    Code:
     alter database NO force logging;
    Did you have any problems with the sugested method? I have tested it and it behaved quite as expected.

    Anyway, if the above does not work for some reason, somewhat more "brute force" method would be to recreate the controlfile without FORCE LOGGING option in it.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    I was not aware of the correct syntax. Thanks.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width