RMAN backup/recovery across different OSs
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: RMAN backup/recovery across different OSs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    257

    RMAN backup/recovery across different OSs

    I've been searching this forum for some firm answers whether I can backup a DB on Solaris and restore it to Linux/Win2k but came up with different answers:

    In thread 39980, it said a backup from one OS can not be restored to another OS. ( I suppose this means even backing up from Solaris and restoring to Linux is impossible?)

    However, in thread 31634, it said it's possible.

    My concerns is if I were to backup from Solaris and restore to Windows, how does file paths get converted from one OS to another. It seems the control files will need to be changed in a major way.

    What about backup from Solaris and restore to Linux, which are both based on UNIX? Is there any dependency on the OS binary in any way when the backups are created? Thus preventing the above scenerios from working?

    Finally, I plan to use RMAN on Win2k to back up DBs on Solaris. Assuming my goal is to be able to restore back to a Solaris box, will it work to run RMAN on Win2k with target DBs on Solaris?

    We use Oracle on Solaris/Linux/Win2k so I am trying to see if I can use one RMAN catalog to back up all databases on all platforms.

    Any suggestions are very much appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Nope, don't work.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Jeff,
    Finally, I plan to use RMAN on Win2k to back up DBs on Solaris. Assuming my goal is to be able to restore back to a Solaris box, will it work to run RMAN on Win2k with target DBs on Solaris?
    He is using RMAN backup not physical file backup. Why he can't make a auxillary database to a different OS? It will be RMAN who builds the database in physical level and not directly copying from the physical data files. So will you please explain what is the problem?

    Say,
    original database in Sun Solaris
    Catalog database is in NT
    backup using rman

    Need to create an auxillary database in IBM AIX => you mean to say this is not possible..? Sorry don't have multiple OS to check the possibility..!!

    Thanks
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Revoking my claim. Whoops. Escaped froma possible fire!
    Last edited by Thomasps; 12-05-2003 at 12:20 AM.
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    257
    Jeff,

    Thanks. I can understand backing up from one target DB and restoring to another on different OS won't work.

    What about using RMAN on Win2k to backup from and restore to Solaris based systems? That is, if I want to use RMAN to back up and restore DBs on Solaris, does it mean the RMAN must reside on a Solaris system as well?

    Thanks,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    360
    No, the repository can be on any platform - its just metadata residing in a database.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width