Recover from backup (obsolete) with nocatalog
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Recover from backup (obsolete) with nocatalog

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    138

    Recover from backup (obsolete) with nocatalog

    Hi,

    I have rman running with nocatalog, and we take weekly copies of backup for atleast 6 months. but say if rman removes obsolete copies from the control file, How do I restore to a old backup set because the control file doesnt have any information on the backup set.
    Is it possible to set some time and specify the backup set to recover?

    Note: Uses control file because I am in nocatalog.

    Thanks,
    -dharma

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938

    Re: Recover from backup (obsolete) with nocatalog

    Originally posted by dharma
    Hi,

    I have rman running with nocatalog, and we take weekly copies of backup for atleast 6 months. but say if rman removes obsolete copies from the control file, How do I restore to a old backup set because the control file doesnt have any information on the backup set.
    Is it possible to set some time and specify the backup set to recover?

    Note: Uses control file because I am in nocatalog.

    Thanks,
    -dharma
    Set the init.ora parameter CONTROL_FILE_RECORD_KEEP_TIME to 183 (half a year).

    It is an "alter system" parameter.

    But why don't you use a catalog database?
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    138
    Thanks julian, I will try. The company doesnt want to spend $$$ and I have to settle for a nocatalog.

    Thanks,
    -dharma

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    What do money have to do with recovery catalog? It is a small database, possibly about 100 Mb which idles most of the time.
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    138
    That means I will have to create the catalog in the same instance I am running..which conflict with oracles reccomendation that it be created in a different instance.
    -dharma

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Put in into a small NT/2000 1 CPU machine. That's not much :-)
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width