create new db
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: create new db

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    32

    create new db

    Okay, so I need import a full .dmp into a new (empty) db. I am not familiar with the tablespaces or users of the db to be imported. At all. I simply need to get it onto the PC for the db programmer. So, my questions are:

    How do I import if I am not sure of the tablespaces or users necessary?

    What are the sql commands to create the db?? (CREATE DATABASE "name") Can I do this without any parameters...and keep it from using default parameters?


    Is it possible to simply import into a parameter-less db that I create?


    I have a clean slate...new machine...newly installed oracle 8i...no other db in sight. Please help. Thank you so much.

    (see thread: Easy Import for background info)
    Thanks,
    Rara.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    Was a db created upon install of 8i??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    32
    yeah, but it was a "typical" database.
    Thanks,
    Rara.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    126

    Wink create new db

    Where did the export come from? See if you can get the create scripts for the database from the same source.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    32
    Yeah, I need some more info...not just the full .dmp file, right?
    Thanks,
    Rara.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    126

    Wink create new db

    Correct. Create scripts and the init.ora.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width