DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: set env on Linux

Hybrid View

set env on Linux

Sorry, I am new with Oracle runnign on Linux. and I have questions about running more than one instance on the Linux machine.

right now, when I do:

[oracle@test oracle]$ echo $ORACLE_SID
    mp01

my question is what do I need to do to change this environment to different environment so I can create the new database.

thanks

[oracle@test oracle]$ ORACLE_SID= newsid
    [oracle@test oracle]$ export ORACLE_SID

[oracle@test oracle]$ echo $ORACLE_SID
    newsid

Also, just as a word of advice. If you plan on creating more than one oracle database on that box I would advise on creating different userids instead of just oracle. That way you'll be able to tell right off the bat who's doing what on that box instead of seeing a bunch of processes with the oracle userid.
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

Great thanks.

I am new with Linux so I am a little hesitate doing from what your advise even it makes a whole lot of sense.

So let say if I am about to create a new instance. I created a new user and join him into the dba, oinstall group??? so that way the old user which is oracle should have the full right when I log in as oracle, vice versus????

thanks so much for great advise.

Personally, I'm not a big fan of having the Oracle software owned by different Unix users because you run into a lot of permissions issues.
    Jeff Hunter

Originally posted by marist89
    Personally, I'm not a big fan of having the Oracle software owned by different Unix users because you run into a lot of permissions issues.