Connecting to OEM
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Connecting to OEM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lagos, Nigeria
    Posts
    7

    Connecting to OEM

    Could somebody help me out on this issue, I'm trying to connect to OEM as Oracle Management Server with a user name but it was giving me
    Incorrect login credential error.

    Please help me out

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Bangalore , India
    Posts
    31
    First u have to create a repository user named as sysman/oem_temp after that u connect to OEM through username sysman and password as oem_temp. But, before that check whether your management server is running or not.
    Mohit Sharan
    DBA
    Bangalore.
    Cell No : 91-9845211820

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    433
    First u have to create a repository user named as sysman/oem_temp after that u connect to OEM through username sysman and password as oem_temp. But, before that check whether your management server is running or not.

    -->I have question on that , I think sysman is not a oracle schema user .
    1. www.dbasupport.com
    2. www.dbforums.com
    3. www.itpub.net
    4. www.csdn.net
    5. www.umlchina.com
    6. www.tek-tips.com
    7. www.cnforyou.com
    8. fm365.federal.com.cn
    9. www.programmersheaven.com
    10.http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp
    ligang1000@hotmail.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    134
    Originally posted by ligang
    First u have to create a repository user named as sysman/oem_temp after that u connect to OEM through username sysman and password as oem_temp. But, before that check whether your management server is running or not.

    -->I have question on that , I think sysman is not a oracle schema user .
    I think you are right. If you try connecting thro SQL PLUS with sysman, it will say invalid user. BTW, have you guys known the difference b/n the Stand Alone and the OMS that is popped up to choose when you invoke the Enterprize Manager?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Originally posted by mohit_sharan
    First u have to create a repository user named as sysman/oem_temp after that u connect to OEM through username sysman and password as oem_temp. But, before that check whether your management server is running or not.
    The user name password sysman/oem_temp is for Oracle Management Server (OMS). The Oracle Enterprise Manager (OEM) repository can be of any user name. The repository user name and password would allow the OEM to do DML activity against the database to fetch you the results (Not all the results).
    Code:
       ------------        ------------      ------------------
       |           |       |           |     |                 |
       |    OEM    |------>|    OMS    |---->|  Database OEM   |
       |   Console |       |           |     |   Repository    |
       -------------       -------------     -------------------
    
                           sysman/oem_temp     myname/my_passwd
    Hope this would help to Understand the configuration.

    -Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    16

    Connection problem OEM

    I am using OEM in standalone mode.

    When I try to connect using a user who has DBA role granted, it connects.

    If I use any other user who does not have DBA role granted, it gives error : ora-00942 Table or vies does not exist
    and does not connect.

    I am trying to doing "connect as: NORMAL"

    What roles/privileges are needed to connect as NORMAL user ?

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    16
    I found the answer.

    It needs OEM_MONITOR role.

    Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width