Is it possible to make Export and Import at the same time..
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Is it possible to make Export and Import at the same time..

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    205

    Is it possible to make Export and Import at the same time..

    Hi,

    Have tablespace 20 GB of data. I want to export it and import it to another database.

    I want to have less down time..

    Export itself takes long time. Can export and import be done at the same time. Any way out ..?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    Perhaps if you used files?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    205
    Please elaborate a little bit more..

    The databases, both are in same server.. I want to send compressed file with PIPE and at the same time also I want to import to other database from the same compressed file....

    Is it possible..?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    Originally posted by skdas
    Please elaborate a little bit more..

    The databases, both are in same server.. I want to send compressed file with PIPE and at the same time also I want to import to other database from the same compressed file....

    Is it possible..?
    you want to import into one db from the same file that the export is in the middle of producing?
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    you can but if the process interrrupts you have to start all over again which can be longer than doing export then import seperately!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938

    Re: Is it possible to make Export and Import at the same time..

    Originally posted by skdas
    Hi,

    Have tablespace 20 GB of data. I want to export it and import it to another database.

    I want to have less down time..

    Export itself takes long time. Can export and import be done at the same time. Any way out ..?
    Why don't you clone the database to the other server (with RMAN). That's very fast method.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,135
    Export and Import can be done simultaneously using unix pipes. This is the faster than any other method I had used.

    Tamil

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    5,253
    Originally posted by tamilselvan
    Export and Import can be done simultaneously using unix pipes. This is the faster than any other method I had used.

    Tamil
    Do you mean directly through a pipe, or through a fifo file/node?
    David Aldridge,
    "The Oracle Sponge"

    Senior Manager, Business Intelligence Development
    XM Satellite Radio
    Washington, DC

    Oracle ACE

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,135
    Through pipes and rsh.

    Tamil

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    copy is the best & fastest.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width