Tns-12545
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Tns-12545

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    82

    Tns-12545

    Hi,

    I have entries in my tnsnames.ora on our development server pointing to external databases. I can tnsping them with no problem.

    I copied these entries in our production server's tnsnames.ora file and I can't tnsping these databases from this server.

    Any explanation on what may cause this and how to fix it?

    I am on HP-UX with Oracle 8.1.7 database

    Thanks
    Last edited by DQuinn; 10-15-2003 at 10:10 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hull, UK
    Posts
    220
    Hi,

    Check first if you can do a normal ping to the machine where the db is hosted.


    Sri

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    82
    I don't have the IP address.

    All I know is that tnsping from dev server works.
    tnsping from prod server doesn't.

    Are there any other things I have to look for other than tnsnames.ora?

    Denis

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Originally posted by DQuinn
    I don't have the IP address.

    All I know is that tnsping from dev server works.
    tnsping from prod server doesn't.

    Are there any other things I have to look for other than tnsnames.ora?

    Denis
    do a tnsping from dev server. note the host name or ip name that is shown in the output. Then ping the ip from the prod server.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Irving
    Posts
    3

    unable to do a tnsping from production

    Hi from what you have written and from my experience in my project I am giving you this reply.
    Many servers maintains firewall so that not everyone can connect to it. Probably firewall, of the database server to which you are trying to access from development server, might have been opened for port 1521 for your development server and the same is not opened up for the production server (does it make any sense!). You may contact your system administrators to discuss the firewall issues.
    Hope this helped you!
    Raghavendra

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3
    Hi,

    If you've used tnsping or ping with name and don't IP, see your host file on OS.

    Bye,
    Jhonny_BR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width