No. of processes in init.ora
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: No. of processes in init.ora

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    30

    No. of processes in init.ora

    Hi!
    I wanted to confirm one thing- how is No is of processes in init.ora linked with total no. of connections we can made through our application to the database. If we have this parameter set as 500, that means only around 490 users will be able to login in the application? or is there any other parameter also which is responsible for total no. of users connected with the database at a time?

    Waiting eagerly for the response...
    Rgds,
    Amit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    sessions as well

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    182
    Originally posted by davey23uk
    sessions as well
    Is sessions only valid/used when you have DISPATCHERS/MTS set?

    I am not using MTS at the moment and it seems there is a process for every connection/session. Ok, maybe I am confused.
    - Cookies

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    124
    "Sessions" will be effective only if u r using MTS.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    30

    and if not implementing MTS....

    That means if we have processes set as 500, and 1000 users are trying to login at different time interval, so it wont allow users to login into the system? what error message will it give to them?

    rgds,
    Amit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    well Oracle will return unable to create process, depends how your application handles that isnt it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    295
    The default values of the SESSIONS and TRANSACTIONS parameters are derived from processes. So you do not need to set sessions.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    not necessarily true with sessions. I have had situations where i have blown the sessions parameter but not the processes one

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width