Setting RMAN's backup directory
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Setting RMAN's backup directory

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204

    Setting RMAN's backup directory

    How do you set RMAN's backup directory? The default is $ORACLE_HOME/dbs.
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    In your allocate command:
    ALLOCATE CHANNEL d1 TYPE DISK FORMAT '/u01/oraback/mysid/d1%U';
    ALLOCATE CHANNEL d2 TYPE DISK FORMAT '/u02/oraback/mysid/d2%U';
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    Thank you!
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    Jeff,

    I'm getting an error when I execute the example:

    RMAN> allocate channel d1 type disk format '/home/oracle/backup/BANG/d1%U';

    RMAN error message stack...

    error encountered while parsing input commands
    syntax error: found "identifier": expecting one of: "for"
    the bad identifier was:d1
    at line 1 column 18 file: standard input
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Hmm. Works for me on 8.1.7.4 and 9.2.0.2... What version?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    9.2.0.4

    I'm digging through the docs. I'll figure it out. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. I'll keep you posted...
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    http://download-west.oracle.com/docs...rma.htm#439428

    http://download-west.oracle.com/docs...nsyn2.htm#8514

    I think you can also do it like:
    Code:
    run { 
         allocate channel t1 type disk;
         backup 
           filesperset=20 
           format='d%U' 
           database;
    }
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    Thanks for your help.

    RMAN rocks. This was a ton more work the way we were doing it.

    run {
    allocate channel fs1 type disk format='/home/oracle/backup/BANG/%u.bak';
    allocate channel fs2 type disk format='/home/oracle/backup/BANG/%u.bak';
    allocate channel fs3 type disk format='/home/oracle/backup/BANG/%u.bak';
    allocate channel fs4 type disk format='/home/oracle/backup/BANG/%u.bak';

    set limit channel fs1 kbytes=2000000; #limit file size to 2Gb
    set limit channel fs2 kbytes=2000000;
    set limit channel fs3 kbytes=2000000;
    set limit channel fs4 kbytes=2000000;

    backup database;

    sql "alter system archive log current";

    backup archivelog all delete input;

    }
    ===========================================
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width