pro/standby solution
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: pro/standby solution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    south africa
    Posts
    401

    pro/standby solution

    hi

    need some help

    1/ assume i have db01(pro) and db02(standby) accessing same disk array and, if the db01 goes down i can activate db02.

    2/if forexample db01 has data corruption like my redologs are corrupted the same thing will happen to db02., in this case my stanby will not help me.


    is there any way i can preven my data corruption will not happen to stanby..I am sure lot of people might be using some thing to prevent these kind.



    pls advise...

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    Hi,
    Can u please let us know how u have created or planing to create the standby db.

    From your info i understand that both PRO and standby are using the same .dbf files. If this is the case then there is not point or benifit of having a standby like this and more over i dont think a standby can be created like this.

    Please give us more info if my above understanding is wrong.

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187

    Re: pro/standby solution

    Originally posted by prodadmin
    hi

    need some help

    1/ assume i have db01(pro) and db02(standby) accessing same disk array and, if the db01 goes down i can activate db02.

    2/if forexample db01 has data corruption like my redologs are corrupted the same thing will happen to db02., in this case my stanby will not help me.


    why is this true? perhaps only one block on the array is corrupt?



    pls advise...

    Thanks
    you could also have your standsby configured so that it's a few hours behind the primary so if the primary db get's corrupted you can roll forward to PIT before corruption on standby.
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    If that's your concern, you can use a logical standby.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    south africa
    Posts
    401
    what do you mean by logical standby ?
    do we need to write a custom program for this?

    you could also have your standsby configured so that it's a few hours behind the primary so if the primary db get's corrupted
    You can roll forward to PIT before corruption on standby

    Our system cannot afford to loose 10 minutes In 10 minutes i will be loosing 434 jobs ona busy day

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by prodadmin
    what do you mean by logical standby ?
    do we need to write a custom program for this?
    http://tahiti.oracle.com search for logical standby
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    Originally posted by prodadmin
    what do you mean by logical standby ?
    do we need to write a custom program for this?




    Our system cannot afford to loose 10 minutes In 10 minutes i will be loosing 434 jobs ona busy day
    if you can't tolerate 10 mins of down time I'd suggest RAC with a physical standby running gauaranteed no data loss mode at a remote location as well a physical standby runnning with a time lag in the same location as the rac.
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    I can see it now, "But we can't affor that solution..."
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width