copy database
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: copy database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    68

    copy database

    Hello :

    I am planning to copy a dev database to a qa database.

    I am asked to use cold backups as the mechanism. No Rman's.

    The database is about 200GB and is in 817

    The names of the dev and qa are in different hardware, same OS

    what i have in mind is to copy df's to destination, recreate ctl files and redologs.. but i want to make sure, i have all steps in order to do this..

    can anyone, please let me know in STEPS, to accomplish this, so i dont make any mistakes.. this is my first assignment here..

    Thx, ST2003
    Last edited by st2003; 10-09-2003 at 10:07 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    there are at least 3 notes on Metalink telling you how to do this

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    68
    Hello Pando..

    I am following this article: Note:18070.1 from metalink

    Subject: How to Make a Copy of a Database on the Same Unix Machine :

    Only difference is that, I am doing on a different machine.. So, I have to copy the physical structure carefully..

    After going through the article, it says that I should copy all datafiles, logfiles and controlfiles to the Target database and issue recreate controlfile cmd using resetlogs..

    When i use resetlogs, doesn't oracle create redologs automatically in path specified in controlfile.. if it does not find them physically. If so, is it OK to copy only ctlfiles and datafiles and let controlfile creatn command create redologs..

    Thanks, ST2003

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    Originally posted by st2003

    When i use resetlogs, doesn't oracle create redologs automatically in path specified in controlfile.. if it does not find them physically. If so, is it OK to copy only ctlfiles and datafiles and let controlfile creatn command create redologs..

    Thanks, ST2003
    just copy the datafiles, why control file when you are recreating it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    68
    Got it.. So I will only copy the datafiles.

    So, when I don't copy the redologs, oracle automatically creates then.

    Thanks, ST2003

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    68
    I just figured out that we will not be able to take a cold backup on our prod database to copy for a QA db. Instead we have a hot backup of yesterday's that we need to use for this purpose.

    So, in this case, how would I handle ?

    Restore DF's and Redologs basically..
    Then in the Controlfile creation script, how would I handle about recovery part?

    # Recovery is required if any of the datafiles are restored backups,
    # or if the last shutdown was not normal or immediate.
    RECOVER DATABASE
    # All logs need archiving and a log switch is needed.
    ALTER SYSTEM ARCHIVE LOG ALL;
    # Database can now be opened normally.
    ALTER DATABASE OPEN;
    # Commands to add tempfiles to temporary tablespaces.
    # Online tempfiles have complete space information.
    # Other tempfiles may require adjustment.
    ALTER TABLESPACE TEMP ADD TEMPFILE '/data/oracle/PNYKDD01/u01/temp_01.dbf' REUSE;
    # End of tempfile additions.
    #

    With the cold bu restoration, i would have commented the recover database and alter system archive log all and should made the open statement to alter database open resetlogs. How would I do now?

    Thanks, ST2003

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width