Corrupt block relative dba:. how to correct, what to make?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Corrupt block relative dba:. how to correct, what to make?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sao Paulo
    Posts
    114

    Corrupt block relative dba:. how to correct, what to make?

    The error in the alert file


    Corrupt block relative dba: 0x0ea1af4e (file 58, block 2207566)
    Bad header found during buffer read
    Data in bad block -
    type: 0 format: 0 rdba: 0x00000000
    last change scn: 0x0000.00000000 seq: 0x1e flg: 0x64
    consistency value in tail: 0x99120606
    check value in block header: 0x0, computed block checksum: 0x6e3a
    spare1: 0x0, spare2: 0x0, spare3: 0x19a
    ***
    Reread of rdba: 0x0ea1af4e (file 58, block 2207566) found same corrupted data
    ***
    Corrupt block relative dba: 0x0ea1af4e (file 58, block 2207566)
    Bad header found during buffer read
    Data in bad block -
    type: 0 format: 0 rdba: 0x00000000
    last change scn: 0x0000.00000000 seq: 0x1e flg: 0x64
    consistency value in tail: 0x99120606
    check value in block header: 0x0, computed block checksum: 0x6e3a
    spare1: 0x0, spare2: 0x0, spare3: 0x19a
    ***

    The tablespace

    Nome
    da Tablespace FILE_ID FILE_NAME
    ------------------------------ ---------- ----------------------------------------
    RTX_DATA 58 /datafiles/pnxtl_02/dat/rtx_data_07.dbf


    How to correct?????


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    What version?

    You can through the dilligene to determine what object in that file is corrupt if you like. Perhaps it's am index that you can just rebuild.

    If it turns out to be a crucial object you will have to restore some how. Perhaps from a backup or it's a static table you could rebuild from Q/A type environemnt if that is available to you.

    steve
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    Run this script and it will tell you what the object is that is corrupt. Hopefully it's an index and you can just drop it and recreate it. If it's a table then there are a couple of things you can do to fix it.


    /* title: Corrupt_blocks
    purpose:This script will find what objects are corrupt if you receive a datablock corruption error
    example: ORA-01578: ORACLE data block corrupted (file # 347, block # 13591)
    ORA-01110: data file 347: '/u006/oradata/OARPTSdata4/applsysx03.dbf'
    ORA-26040: Data block was loaded using the NOLOGGING option
    */
    select segment_name,segment_type,owner
    from sys.dba_extents
    where file_id=(m)
    and (z) between block_id and block_id + blocks -1;
    /* note! (m) is the file number and (z) is the block number reported in the ora-01578 error message.
    */
    Last edited by OracleDoc; 10-09-2003 at 10:02 AM.
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sao Paulo
    Posts
    114
    To Mr. stmontgo

    Version 8.1.7.2.0

    To Mr. OracleDoc

    PNXTL02-:dbahiran> select segment_name,segment_type,owner
    2 from sys.dba_extents
    3 where file_id=58
    4 and (2207566) between block_id and block_id + blocks -1;

    SEGMENT_NAME SEGMENT_TYPE Dono
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ------------------ ------------
    RTX_LT TABLE PARTITION SYSADM

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sao Paulo
    Posts
    114
    I agree with you

    OCP-One more way for Larry to extract money from you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840

    anandkl

    Since its a table corruption, you need to restore from the the most recent backup.If u dont have a good backup u can do the following which will cause oracle to skip the corrupt block while reading

    1 .exec DBMS_REPAIR.ADMIN_TABLES ('REPAIR_ADMIN',1,1,null);
    execute this in your schema which will create a table by name REPAIR_ADMIN.You can give your own name.This table will basically store name of objects for which corruption was blocks were skipped

    2.variable a number;
    exec sys.DBMS_REPAIR.CHECK_OBJECT( 'schema_owner' , table_name' , null, 1, REPAIR_ADMIN', null, null, null, null, :a );
    print a;

    This will check object for any block corruption and will tell u how many blocks were corrupt.

    3.exec DBMS_REPAIR.FIX_CORRUPT_BLOCKS( 'schema_name' , 'table_name' , NULL, 1, 'REPAIR_ADMIN',NULL, :a );
    print a;

    This will mark the corrupt blocks as been corrupt and this output should be same the output of step 2

    4.exec DBMS_REPAIR.skip_corrupt_blocks( 'schema_name' , 'table_name' , 1, 1);

    This will mark all the corrupt blocks to be skipped when the process reads this blocks.

    5. exec DBMS_REPAIR.rebuild_freelists( 'schema_name' , 'table_name' , null, 1);

    This will rebuild the freelists for the table

    If using this method all the data in corrupt block will be lost.

    So the best way to fix the corrupt block is do drop the table and do recover from the most recent backup..

    All the best in fixing the block corruption.

    please come back if you have any questions.

    we faced the same problem

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sao Paulo
    Posts
    114
    To anandkl


    Tanks,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width