connect to the database using SID
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: connect to the database using SID

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    54

    connect to the database using SID

    Hi all,

    let's assume there are no connect string and the only thing we have is ORACLE_SID is running (BTW, it's on Windows 2000). the reason I asked b/c I only have the service and I tried to use Terminal servers to create my database. Any way, in terminal servers, you can not set the environment to the ORACLE_SID b/c it won't resolve the services. Is there any ways for us to create the database using Terminal Services??? obviously, we can't use the connect string b/c the database does not exist yet.

    Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187

    Re: connect to the database using SID

    Originally posted by candyman
    Any way, in terminal servers, you can not set the environment to the ORACLE_SID b/c it won't resolve the services.
    I just TS into another machine and execute the following

    C:\Documents and Settings\oracle>set ORACLE_SID=DALLAS2

    C:\Documents and Settings\oracle>sqlplus "/as sysdba"

    SQL*Plus: Release 9.2.0.2.0 - Production on Wed Oct 1 10:38:38 2003

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2002, Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

    Connected to an idle instance.

    SQL>


    ..........seems to work ok for me, and yes there are several other Oracle DB's on that box
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    54
    stmontgo,

    I just tested as we speak now. I ts to the server,
    1. create the service using ORADIM,
    2. set ORACLE_SID
    3. SQLPLUS /nolog
    4. connect internal/manager (I am on 8i, but 8i or 9i should not make any differences)
    I got the errror: ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied



    but I do the same procedure at the server it works fines.


    any comments???

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    add the TSInternetUser to the ORA_DBA group

    steve
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    54
    i JUST CHECKed, the ts user is in ORA_DBA group

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    and who said internalīs password is manager?

    and who said 8i and 9i are same? there is NO internal user in 9i

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    54
    Pando,

    I apologize for stating 9i, I mean the way Terminal server work. I am well aware what support and what not on 9i. The point here is Terminal Server.

    To answer your question: internal password is manager b/c I create the service with manager as the password.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    do you use

    SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES=(NTS)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    54
    no, should I

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    yes and dont supply any password

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width