Inserting pound sign into a table...
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Inserting pound sign into a table...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840

    Inserting pound sign into a table...

    Hi Friends,
    We have DB which is having NLS_LANG=GERMAN and
    NLS_CHARACTERSET US7ASCII. We have an issue with inserting the pound sign i.e UK currency.The Database is 7 Bit -character set.Can u please help me in how i insert the pound sign into a table.

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    I'm pretty sure you need an 8-bit character set to do that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    Hi Dapi,
    Thanks for the reply,
    how can i convert my 7 bit to 8 bit character set.Can u please guide
    and what are its effect on Database.

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    you cant change character set, will need a new database and imp/exp or something like that

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Oh yes you can, providing the old set is a sub-set of the new one. Look in the NLS manual chapter 3:

    ALTER DATABASE [ db_name ] CHARACTER SET new_character_set;
    ALTER DATABASE [ db_name ] NATIONAL CHARACTER SET new_NCHAR_character_set;

    (We are pretty international here and use WE8ISO8859P1 - there are other options . . . )
    Last edited by DaPi; 09-24-2003 at 06:28 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    Ok...thanks DaPi..

    I will try this.

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    Hi Friends
    I was able to display and store the pound sign...

    I set my client side NLS_LANG=NLS_LANG=American_America.US7ASCII
    and once loged into sqlplus i execucted

    select chr(163) from dual;

    I got the Pound sign and was able to store the same into a table..

    Thanks every body for the feedback and suggestion.

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width