Cretate database from template
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cretate database from template

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    33

    Cretate database from template [SOLVED]

    Running Oracle 9...

    I've generated a databasetemplate under ../asssistants/dbca/templates/TEMP.dbt
    Is there anyway NOT using dbca to create a database from
    templates?

    Added:
    What I did was creating this template using dbca.
    I've read in a newsgroup that during this process you have a checkbox
    for creating scripts. But I didn't find any checkbox for this..
    I want a shellscript!!!
    Last edited by johan; 09-24-2003 at 04:04 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    33
    Found that you can run dbca in silent mode...

    dbca -help

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    use dbca but at the end dont create the database, but save it as a script. Then you have a bunch of scripts you can edit each time and run again and again

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    323

    Re: Cretate database from template [SOLVED]

    Originally posted by johan
    Running Oracle 9...

    I've generated a databasetemplate under ../asssistants/dbca/templates/TEMP.dbt
    Is there anyway NOT using dbca to create a database from
    templates?

    Added:
    What I did was creating this template using dbca.
    I've read in a newsgroup that during this process you have a checkbox
    for creating scripts. But I didn't find any checkbox for this..
    I want a shellscript!!!
    Select new database option, only with this option, you can find check box option to create DB scripts, You can find this option just before proceeding for DB creation. Scripts will be created under $ORACLE_BASE/admin/SID/scripts.

    Hope this helps.
    Nagesh

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    33
    davey23uk, OK you mean that I should skip the -createDatabase option ?

    # dbca -silent -createDatabase -templateName BUZZ.dbt -gdbname BUZZ -sid BUZZ -datafileJarLocation /SSW/oracle/product/9.2/assistants/dbca/templates -datafileDestination /local/db/oracle/oradata -responseFile NO_VALUE -characterset WE8ISO8859P1

    and add a redirect >myscript.sh ??
    Last edited by johan; 09-24-2003 at 04:54 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    no, i mean use dbca as normal with the gui, go through the options and select save to script at the end (its a tick box)

    I've never used the silent mode so I dont know if that will work

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    33
    I don't want to use the GUI, thats the point....


    And I can't find the "tickbox" for this...

    The template-generation is a 8 step procedure..

    I start dbca
    1. Manage Templates
    2. From Existing Template
    3. New Database (No database files)
    4. Specify a name
    5. Database features
    6. Database Connection options (Shared Server Mode)
    7. Initialization Parameters
    8. Database Storage (file locations)

    No "tickbox"....

    The above will create a .dbt fil under assistants/dbca/templates/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    33
    Well anyway this seems to be the solution to my problem.

    # dbca -silent -createDatabase -templateName BUZZ.dbt -gdbname BUZZ -sid BUZZ -datafileJarLocation /SSW/oracle/product/9.2/assistants/dbca/templates -datafileDestination /local/db/oracle/oradata -responseFile NO_VALUE -characterset WE8ISO8859P1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width